Recipes

St. Patrick’s Day Green Smoothie

 

IMG_1317

Happy St. Patrick’s Day y’all! My perfect drink to salute to this day? Nope. Not a green beer.  A perfect, delicious, healthy green smoothie packed with vitamins, protein, fiber and did I mention…deliciousness?  What better way to celebrate the Irish culture?

I’ve always loved smoothies, but it wasn’t until a few years ago that I really began enjoying (or even knew anything about) green smoothies.

Sometimes I get dragged down by my typical breakfast – bagel with peanut butter, banana, and chia seeds, and I want to spice things up. I also try to start my morning off with something green – my thought is that maybe this will motivate me to eat healthy throughout the day.  And trust me, it does.

I know green smoothies have been around for awhile now, but I still think a lot of people are afraid to try them because they don’t look very appetizing.  So, what is a “green smoothie” you ask?  Well, it’s a smoothie that’s green! Duh. Green smoothies get their green color because they contain something green. Simple right?  Most likely a vegetable like spinach, kale, cucumber or parsley.  Green smoothies can be made with a high speed blender.  I make mine with a NutriBullet.

Some of my favorite ingredients to use in green smoothies include: spinach, cucumber, apple, lemon, strawberries, lime, blueberry, kale, banana, nut milks, coconut milks (or other non-dairy milks), orange juice…and on and on…

While all of these ingredients make for an excellent green smoothie, I always find myself going back to my “original” recipe – my very first green smoothie!

And, for any green smoothie newbies, I highly recommend starting with this recipe (or something similar), but I encourage you to eventually experiment with kale, romaine lettuce, or other leafy greens.

In the meantime…

St. Patrick’s Day Green Smoothie

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup almond milk (or other non-dairy milk)
  • 1-1.5 cup(s) baby spinach
  • 1 large ripe frozen banana, chopped in half
  • 1 tablespoon peanut butter
  • 1 tablespoon chia seeds 
  • Pinch of cinnamon
  • Handful of your favorite fruit – I love blueberries!
  • 3 ice cubes

Directions:

  1. Add all ingredients into a high speed blender. Blend until smooth. Enjoy!

IMG_1315

The first time Bryan saw me drinking one of these I thought he was going to throw up…but he was brave enough to try it and even he agrees, it doesn’t taste like spinach.  I believe his words were, “wow, that’s really good.”  Bryan tested. Mandy approved.

So cheers to green smoothies! And Happy St. Patrick’s Day.

Leave a Reply

