Popular · Recipes

Chia Overnight Oats.

Hello. And happy Monday (is there such a thing?).  Hope everyone who celebrates Easter had a nice holiday weekend.  I sure did – Bryan and I went to Delaware to spend time with his family.  This was actually the first time I had ever met them.  Yes, after almost two years together, I had never met his family.  But I must say, it was worth the wait.  We had a relaxing time drinking coffee, conversing, taking walks and playing games.  It was a great weekend.

Anywhoooooo….

I don’t know how you feel after a long weekend away, then having to come home and almost immediately starting work… but if you’re anything like me (lazy), then the last thing on your mind is cooking – especially breakfast the next day after arriving at 10:30 p.m. on Easter Sunday evening.

My favorite lazy breakfast meal is Chia Overnight Oats.  Sounds weird right?  Well, I’m asking you to trust me on this one…

Overnight Chia Oats

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 cup oatmeal
  • 3/4 cup almond milk
  • 1.5 tbsp chia seeds
  • 1/4 tsp vanilla extract
  • dash of cinnamon & salt

Directions:

  1. Mix together above ingredients in a small bowl overnight. Cover (optional) and refrigerate.

The night before it will look like this…

Then the following morning it will thicken up and look like this…(okay, it doesn’t look very thick in this picture, but I promise it is!)

IMG_1324

Do you see a little spy in this picture? She’s so sneaky…

IMG_1325

Optional AM ingredients:

My favorites are: maple syrup, peanut butter, banana, blueberries – mix in whatever your heart desires! That’s the beauty of it.

I admit, the thought of eating oats COLD without cooking them totally turned me off…it just sounds gross…and wrong…but ohhhh it’s so right!

The best part?  It literally takes less than two minutes to throw together the night before – perfect for those people who don’t give themselves much time in the morning.  Plus, some of us (like those living in sunny Florida) don’t want hot oatmeal in the morning, so this gives us the option of still having oats without sweating first thing in the AM.

What are some of your favorite make-ahead breakfast meals?

 

 

Leave a Reply

