Recipes

Spicy Sweet Potato Chili.

IMG_1517

I remember growing up and having chili uhhh-lot.  I feel like my mom made it almost every week – no complaints mom I promise! I love chili!

One thing I love so much about chili is that it’s versatile – have you noticed that I love things that are versatile?  🙂 Who doesn’t? 

You can eat chili plain with a big spoon, you can smear it on toasted bread, serve it over tortilla chips, in a bread bowl, over a vegetarian hot dog… the possibilities are endless.

Also, I’m all about recipes that freeze well.  It’s so convenient to make a large batch, then eat some and save the rest for later.

Oh, and did I mention how much I love crockpots?!  Add that to my love list.  Guess what? Chili is perfect to make in the crockpot.

This meatless chili is warming and cozy with a subtle spicy kick!  It’s loaded with healthy ingredients like kidney beans, black beans, tomatoes, sweet potatoes and quinoa.  It’s the perfect make ahead meal on nights when you know you’re not going to have time (or energy) to prepare a healthy dinner.  You can throw everything into a crockpot in the morning, go about your day, then you will be all ready to serve up homemade, comfort food, one-pot-wonder, slow-cooked-tasting chili that will help you melt away any stresses from the day.  It’s a beautiful thing. Really.

Now hop in the kitchen and make yourself some of this chili!  That’s an order..! 🙂

Spicy Sweet Potato Chili

Vegetarian.
Serves: Plenty. 

Ingredients:

  • 1 (15 oz can) seasoned black beans
  • 1 (15 oz can) spicy chili beans
  • 1 (15 oz can) whole kernel sweet corn
  • 1 (15 oz can) kidney beans
  • 1 (15 oz can) diced tomatoes ( I used zesty chili style)
  • 1 (8 oz) can tomato sauce
  • 2 medium sweet potatoes, peeled and cut into 1/2 inch cubes
  • 1/2 cup uncooked red quinoa
  • 1 tbsp garlic, minced
  • 1 cup water (or vegetable broth)
  • salt and pepper, to taste
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper
  • 1 tsp hot sauce

Toppings: sour cream (we ran out and I was really sad…), avocado, shredded cheese, additional salt & pepper.

Directions: Add above ingredients to a slow cooker.  Set on low for about 8 hours, or until bubbling and hot.

I served mine with shredded cheese on top and with a few slices of toasted french bread.  I was pretty upset we were out of sour cream and avocados…these would have been excellent additions to this chili. 😦 Whomp whomp whomp…

IMG_1517

I spy…you may recognize her again.

IMG_1516

Hope everyone is having a nice weekend so far.  The weather here is about as close to perfect as it gets.  Unfortunately, I’m staying inside today – I’ve been battling a sinus infection for a few weeks now and the only thing on my agenda today is REST!

And one more thing before I go…

I just want to wish my dearest friend Brooke a very Happy Birthday!  You know that friend who you know you can always count on no matter what?  The one who believes in you when you don’t believe in yourself?  The one who just “gets” you.  Well, she is that friend. I love her to pieces and I’m thankful every day that we met in zoo school four years ago.

HAPPY BIRTHDAY BROOKIE! 

IMG_1552

 

 

Leave a Reply

