Health · Recipes

Loaded Vegetarian Sweet Potato. Baked.

Hello and happy weekend everyone!!!

What is everyone up to today?  Spending time outside? Resting? Cleaning the house? 

Well, however you’re spending your Sunday, I hope you’re enjoying yourselves.  Oh, and I hope you set aside some time to make this delicious recipe I’m about to share with you today.

This is one of my new favorite recipes and I have my friend Shannon to thank for introducing it to me – Shannon and I go all the way back to first grade.  Hard to believe we’ve known each other for that long.  We met in Mrs. Litz’s classroom the first day of school and were instantly inseparable when we found out that we shared the same birthday.

She’s three hours older…

Jus’ sayin’ 🙂

Anywhoooo, she sent me this recipe last week and I ended up making it that same night!

IMG_1681

 

Loaded Vegetarian Sweet Potato. Baked. 

Vegetarian
Yield: Serves 2
Adapted from Skinnytaste

Ingredients:

  • 2 medium-sized sweet potatoes
  • 1/4 cup fat free Greek yogurt (or light sour cream)
  • 1/2 tsp taco seasoning
  • 1 tsp olive oil
  • 1 orange bell pepper, diced (red would work fine)
  • 1/4 onion, diced
  • 1/2 tsp chili powder
  • 1/2 tsp paprika
  • 1/2 tsp cumin
  • a pinch of salt
  • 1 (15 oz) can black beans, rinsed and drained
  • 1/4 cup mild or spicy salsa
  • 1/2 cup reduced fat Mexican cheese blend
  • 1/4 cup chopped scallions or cilantro – I used both (Bryan wasn’t a fan of the scallions but I loved them)

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 400F. Poke holes in the potatoes with a fork.  Place them directly onto baking rake (see note*).
  2. Combine yogurt and taco seasoning in a small bowl, mix well.
  3. Heat oil in a medium pot over medium heat. Add pepper, onion, chili powder, paprika, cumin and salt; cook until the onions have caramelized slightly, about 5 minutes. Add black beans, stir to combine and heat through (about another 5 minutes).
  4. Slice the potato lengthwise down the middle. Top with 2 tbsp shredded cheese, black bean mixture, 2 tbsp Greek yogurt mixture and 2 tbsp salsa of salsa. Enjoy!

*I don’t wrap my potatoes in aluminum foil, instead, I put them directly onto the baking rack and put a small piece of foil underneath to catch any juice that spills out.  Feel free to wrap them with foil if desired.

IMG_1694

Don’t forget to serve with chips and my favorite guacamole!

IMG_1686

Nom nom nom…

Sweet potatoes are easily one of my all-time favorite foods.  Straight from the oven – sticky, sweet and steamy – I’ll happily eat them plain, with a little bit of butter or (like in this recipe)…

Glam it up.  

Because really, a plain sweet potato doesn’t count as a meal IMO. 

Thank you for sharing this great recipe Shannon!

Leave a Reply

