Health · Recipes

“Cheater” Fish Tacos.

IMG_1771

Hello, and happy Sunday everyone.  And happy May 1st.  Hard to believe, isn’t it? Hope y’all are having a nice weekend so far.  And if you aren’t, I have a colorful recipe that’s bound to cheer you right up. 🙂

Fish tacos.  Actually, “cheater” fish tacos – Bryan deemed them that.  You’ll see why later.

Who doesn’t love fish tacos?  Bryan and I are avid taco lovers.  We eat tacos of some variety at least twice a week.  They are the perfect meal for those gorgeous summer and spring days. Add in some purple cabbage and some of my new favorite sauce (can’t wait to share the recipe with you), and you can’t go wrong.

These tacos are colorful. Simple. Healthy..ish. 🙂 Hey, nobody’s perfect, right?

Cheater” Fish Tacos.

Yield: Serves 2

Ingredients:

The tacos:
6 pieces of beer battered fish – this is where the “cheater” comes in…I used store bought.
4 flour tortillas (hard shells would work too)
1/2 cup shredded cheese
A few pieces of romaine lettuce, cut into pieces
1/2 roma tomato, sliced
1/4 purple cabbage, sliced
1/2 cup of my new favorite sauce (see below)
Directions: Cook fish according to package.  While fish is cooking, add cheese to tortilla and cook in microwave for 15-20 seconds, or until cheese is melted.  Add 1-2 pieces of cooked fish to tortilla then top with remaining ingredients.

My new favorite sauce:
2 heaping T of mayonnaise
1 lime, juiced
1 T of capers
1/2 tsp cumin
1/4 tsp cayenne, or to taste
salt & pepper to taste
Directions– combine all ingredients in a small bowl and stir until well combined.  Adjust seasonings to taste.

IMG_1763

Bryan’s sister, Molly made us fish tacos last month when we were visiting over Easter weekend.  We instantly fell in love with the sauce – fish tacos are “all about the sauce” IMO.  She was kind enough to share the recipe and I’ve made it three times since…

I’m addicted.

And so is Bryan.

Yes, I know I cheated and used store bought fish…but, sometimes after a long day at work, and you’re starving (a.k.a. haaangry) cutting some corners is okay. 🙂  And preferable to everyone involved…

Again, nobody’s perfect. 

Okay, I’m off to buy some groceries – does anybody else love going to the grocery store?  I do.  I could spend hours walking up and down each aisle scoping out what’s on sale and what looks good.  I know it seems weird, but I do love me some grocery shopping.  I prefer it to shopping for clothes. Sad.

 

 

Leave a Reply

