Recipes

Peanut-Butter Chocolate No Bake Cookies.

I love making cookies.  I love the entire process – mixing together the ingredients, dipping your finger in the bowl before anyone sees you, licking the spoon (also before anyone sees you).  It reminds me of childhood and memories of childhood make me think about my mom.   With today being Mother’s Day,  I wanted to share one of my favorite recipes I grew up making with my mom…

My mom, sister and I used to love making cookies. Especially for the holidays.  This family tradition continued on into adulthood and typically turned into us having one too many margaritas and laughing at everything you can imagine.

One too many margaritas?  Is there such a thing? 😉

In our family there was…teehee

As much as I love making cookies, I hate baking them.  Blame it on my lack of patience, or my inability to know when the cookies are cooked just right – crispy on the outside, but still soft in the middle.

It’s difficult to bake “the perfect cookie,” don’t you agree?

Well, I have your solution: DON’T bake them.

That’s right, you don’t have to put these delicious chocolate morsels into the oven.

What’s even better about this recipe is that most of you probably have the ingredients sitting in your pantry.

IMG_1738

These cookies take just minutes of work; most of the time is spent waiting for them to harden into the rich, nutty, chocolaty delights that they are, while attempting not to devour them immediately.

Peanut Butter-Chocolate No-Bake Cookies.

Ingredients:

2 cups sugar
1/2 cup milk (I used almond milk)
1 stick (8 tablespoons) unsalted butter
1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
3 cups old-fashioned rolled oats
1 cup smooth peanut butter
1 tablespoon pure vanilla extract
Pinch kosher salt

Directions:

1- Line a baking sheet with wax paper or parchment.
2- Bring the sugar, milk, butter and cocoa to a boil in a medium saucepan over medium heat, stirring occasionally, then let boil for 1 minute. Remove from the heat. Add the oats, peanut butter, vanilla and salt, and stir to combine.
3-Drop tablespoonfuls of the mixture onto the prepared baking sheet, and let sit at room temperature until cooled and hardened, about 30 minutes. Store in an airtight container in refrigerator.

IMG_1736

Happy Sunday everyone!

And also, HAPPY MOTHER’S DAY to all of the women who have the most important (and challenging) job on the planet.  This includes all the mommas to four-legged fur babies.

Young Folks Photography-40

Here are two of my favorite moms.  I’m so lucky to have them both in my life – strong, intelligent, beautiful women who I admire so much. Happy Mother’s Day mom and sis! May your day be as special as you are. XO

 

Leave a Reply

