Health · Recipes

Simple roasted sweet potato salad.

 

Life can get very hectic at times.  Making it difficult to take good care of ourselves – jobs, kids, spouses, bills take precedence over the most important thing: YOU.

Which, if you think about it is quite silly.  On an airplane, an oxygen mask descends in front of you. What do you do? As we all know, the first rule is to put on your own oxygen mask before you assist anyone else. Only when we first help ourselves can we effectively help others. Caring for yourself is one of the most important—and one of the most often forgotten—things you can do. When your needs are taken care of, the person you care for will benefit, too.  I’m sure Bryan can attest to that!

I find that during these busy (not taking care of myself) times that I don’t eat as healthy and I don’t spend enough time doing some of the things I love the most: cooking, walking, yoga, writing, hanging out with the pups and Bryan.   Then I feel grumpy. 😦

What do I always blame?

Time.

There never seems to be enough of it.

Oh, and energy. Energy is also to blame.

This week I’ve been trying to focus a little more on ME. I feel like I spend so much of my time worrying about everyone else and making sure they are happy.  But guess what?  I’m important.

And you’re important too!  Don’t forget that.

I often come home from a long day at work and the last thing I want to do is cook so I find myself reaching in the freezer for a frozen pizza or microwavable meal, then after I’m finished scarfing it down I feel guilty and wish I had spent those few extra minutes preparing myself a healthy meal.

That’s where this recipe comes in.

It’s super simple.  Super healthy.  Super delicious. 

Triple threat. BOOM.

 

 

Simple Roasted Sweet Potato Salad.
Yield: serves 4-5
Adapted from: OhSheGlows

Ingredients:

For the roasted sweet potato:

  • 1 large sweet potato, peeled and cut into 1 inch cubes
  • 1 T melted coconut oil, or oil of choice
  • Sea salt to taste

For the quinoa salad:

  • 1 cup uncooked quinoa
  • 1 large avocado, pitted and chopped
  • Lime juice, to taste

Directions:

For the sweet potato: Preheat the oven to 400F and line a large baking sheet with parchment paper (or my favorite: a Silpat mat)

Spread the chopped potato onto the baking sheet and drizzle on 1 tablespoon of coconut oil over top each. Toss to coat. Spread into an even layer, being careful not to overcrowd the squash, and garnish with a few pinches of sea salt.

Roast until the bottoms are just starting to brown. For my oven, it took about 25 minutes, but your time may vary. I recommend checking on it after 15 minutes, and then every 5-10 minutes after that. Don’t bother flipping the pieces over – at least I don’t!

IMG_2059

For the salad: Prepare the quinoa according to package while the potato is cooking.  Once cooked, fluff with a fork and remove from heat. Season the quinoa to taste with a good amount of salt and pepper. Stir to combine. Keep the lid on until ready to use so it stays warm.

Pit and chop the avocado and have it ready to go just before assembly.

When the potato is finished cooking, spread the warm quinoa onto a plate (or you can simply combine everything in a large bowl) and top with the (hot out of the oven) roasted sweet potato, and finally the chopped avocado. Garnish with a few more pinches of salt, and a small amount of lime juice drizzled over top. Serve immediately.

IMG_2067

I admit it does require a little bit of time, but very little effort – the most difficult part is peeling the sweet potato. Besides, while the quinoa and sweet potato are cooking, you have 2o minutes to sit on the couch and enjoy a glass of your favorite wine and some ME time. 🙂

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

