Health · Photos · Recipes

Cha-Cha-Cha Chia Seeds.

Let’s talk chia seeds – one of my favorite healthiest foods on the planet.

I love them. 

I love them uh-lot. 

IMG_2225

And my goal for this post is to get you to love them too – perhaps not as much as I do…but at least a smidge.  And if you don’t walk away loving them, I’m hopeful that you’ll at least give them a try – if you haven’t already.

So what exactly are chia seeds? 

Cha-cha-cha-chia...sorry I couldn’t help myself. 🙂  Chia seeds are tiny black seeds from the plant Salvia Hispanica, which is related to the mint.

This plant grows natively in South America.

Chia seeds were an important food for the Aztecs and Mayans back in the day- they prized them for their ability to provide sustainable energy… in fact, “chia” is the ancient Mayan word for “strength.”

Despite their ancient history as a dietary staple, it wasn’t until recently that chia seeds became recognized as a modern day superfood.

In the past few years, they have exploded in popularity and are now consumed by health conscious people all over the world.

What are some of the health benefits of chia seeds?

1- They are loaded with antioxidants.  

2-They provide a large amount of nutrients for very few calories.  

A 1 ounce (28 grams) serving of chia seeds contains:

  • Fiber: 11 grams.
  • Protein: 4 grams.
  • Fat: 9 grams (5 of which are Omega 3’s)
  • Calcium: 18% of the RDA.
  • Manganese: 30% of the RDA.
  • Magnesium: 30% of the RDA.
  • Phosphorus: 27% of the RDA.
  • They also contain a decent amount of Zinc, Vitamin B3 (Niacin), Potassium, Vitamin B1 (Thiamine) and Vitamin B2.

3-They are high in quality protein.

By weight, they are about 14% protein, which is very high compared to most plants.  Chia seeds really are an excellent protein source, especially for people who eat little or no animal products.

4-Due to their high fiber content, chia seeds can aid in weight loss.  

5-High in Omega 3 fatty acids.

6-They are a natural BEAUTY food!

The blend of nutrients in chia seeds such as healthy fats, protein and minerals including zinc help promote healthy skin, hair and nails.

7-They Help Detoxify the body.  

As the highest combined plant source of omega-3, fibre and protein, chia seeds are a great addition to your detoxification efforts. They help support your body’s natural detoxification pathways, repair your cells, reduce inflammation and support a healthy digestive system.

 

I told you.  Chia seeds are like magic.  I love using them as a thickening agent in foods like Overnight Oats, smoothies, and my new favorite protein-packed snack: Chia Seed Pudding.

IMG_2240

Okay have a great Sunday!

Oh, I’m sorry…did you want me to share this new favorite recipe? 😉 I suppose I can do that.

Chia Seed Pudding.
Yield: Serves 2-3

Ingredients:

FOR THE CHIA PUDDING:
  • 1.5 cups almond milk- I like unsweetened
  • 1/4 cup chia seeds
  • 1 T of pure maple syrup, or to taste
SUGGESTED TOPPINGS:- which I had none of… 😦 but highly recommend.
  • Granola
  • Fresh fruit
  • Coconut flakes
  • Cinnamon
  • Nuts and seeds

Directions:

  1. Whisk the almond milk, chia seeds, and sweetener together in a large bowl. Let sit for 5-10 minutes and then whisk again (this just helps prevent clumping).
  2. Cover and chill in the fridge for 2.5-3 hours, or overnight (I did overnight). It helps to stir the mixture every so often during this time, but don’t worry if you can’t.
  3. Stir well before serving. Put into desired bowl and add your desired toppings. Leftovers will keep in an air-tight container in the fridge for 3-5 days.

There you have it! Enjoy!

Hope everyone had a nice weekend.  I sure did. 🙂  I had to work yesterday but today Bryan and I went diving – my first dive of this season and although I still get nervous, it is always worth it once I get over my initial fear.

IMG_2232
Bryan shielding himself from the blistering Florida sun

IMG_2235

Conditions were pretty good – we saw a few sea turtles, reef sharks and goliath groupers.  And on the way back in I spotted to dolphins playing in the waves. What a great day. 🙂 

After diving we were famished so Bryan took me to lunch at a local hot spot right near the water – Two Drunken Goats (seemed fitting).

IMG_2237

Happy Sunday y’all!

Leave a Reply

