Health · Recipes · Wine

Thai Vegetable Soup.

IMG_2209

Hey strangers…Remember me?  Sorry it’s been so long.  I was busy with work and then I was out of town for a week.

Where did I go you ask?

I went home – IdaHOME.  And this was the first time I wasn’t alone for the trip. Yup, Bryan was stuck going with me.

Poor guy.  Mountains.  Good food. Incredible people.  Nice, cool weather…

Feeling sorry for him yet? 🙂 

Needless to say, we had a great time and I look forward to sharing some of my pictures with you (in a later post).  My only regret is not staying longer – it’s extremely difficult when you only have 7 days ( and 2 of them are spent traveling), to squeeze in seeing everyone and spending quality time with them, all while trying to entertain a guest (and show him the beautiful state that I grew up in!).

Okay, now let’s get to my next recipe…

I love rice.  I love soup.  I love coconut milk. I love Thai food. So when you combine all of these things, you get one very happy woman. 🙂

This is a recipe I’ve been meaning to make for some time now and let me just say, it was well worth the wait – so it seemed fitting to have it for today’s post, considering y’all haven’t heard from me in awhile.

Hopefully it’s worth the wait for you too. 😉

Thai Vegetable Soup.
Yield: 4 servings

Ingredients:

  • 1 T vegetable oil
  • 1 T garlic, minced (optional, but I love garlic)
  • 1 medium red pepper, cut into thin strips
  • 1/4 cup sliced red onion
  • 1/2 cup sliced green cabbage
  • 1 cup sliced mushrooms (I used cremeni but shiitake would be good too!)
  • 1 carton (32 oz) Thai Ginger infused broth – found in the Asian aisle at store.  I used Swanson brand
  • 1 can (14 oz) unsweetened coconut milk
  • 1 T fresh lime juice
  • 2 T chopped fresh cilantro
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • grilled tofu (optional. see note)

Directions:

  1. Heat oil in 4-qt saucepan over med-high heat.  Add pepper & red onion, cook 5 minutes.  Stir in mushrooms and garlic.
  2. Add broth and heat to boil.  Stir.
  3. Stir in coconut milk and cabbage. Cook until mixture is hot and bubbling.  Stir in lime juice and cilantro.  Add salt and pepper, to taste and ENJOY!

IMG_2213

Note: I added grilled tofu to mine – I grilled it separately and added it at the end.  As you can see, I also served it over white rice, but that’s optional! It tasted great alone too. 🙂 Options are endless…

IMG_2211

(why yes, that’s a glass of wine you see…shocking I know).

Hope everyone had is having a great weekend!

 

 

Leave a Reply

