Popular · Recipes

Crockpot Vegetarian Chili.

Y’all didn’t think that I would actually post that picture on Facebook and not give you the recipe, did you?

IMG_2465

I’d like to think I’m nicer than that. ūüôā

This recipe was inspired by the ridiculous amount of canned beans I had in the cupboard. It was also inspired by me wanting something I can eat throughout the week and crockpot recipes happen to be perfect for that!

Oh, and one more thing… I’ve been trying to add more quinoa back into my diet. ¬†I used to eat it a lot, but for some reason I have recently stopped incorporating this mother grain into my meal plan.

Time to change that…

This chili is hearty and very filling. It is vegetarian, (easily made vegan), and gluten-free, but meat lovers will enjoy it as well (just ask Bryan). The chili has black beans, spicy chili ¬†beans, tomatoes, and lots of vegetables-onion, orange¬†pepper, corn and zucchini. I¬†threw in a jalape√Īo, chili powder, fresh cilantro and cumin for added spice.

The beans and quinoa team up to make this chili a protein power house! I love the texture the quinoa adds to the chili – I think this could be my new favorite chili recipe. You can top the chili with green onions, cheese, sour cream/Greek yogurt, avocado slices, chips, crackers, or serve sliced bread¬†on the side. The chili is good, possibly better, the second day. We’ve been enjoying¬†leftovers for a few days now and I haven’t heard any complaints yet. ūüôā

IMG_2470

Crockpot Vegetarian Quinoa Chili
Yield: Serves 8-10 (we eat large portions)

1 cup quinoa, rinsed
2 cups water
1 small onion, chopped
3 cloves garlic, minced
1 jalapeno pepper, diced
2 medium orange peppers, diced
1 (15oz) can sweet corn, drained
1 medium zucchini, chopped
2 (15 ounce) cans black beans, drained and rinsed
1 (15 ounce) can spicy chili beans, drained and rinsed
3 (15 ounce) cans diced tomatoes
1 (15 ounce) can tomato sauce
1/4 cup chopped fresh cilantro
2-3 tablespoons chili powder, depending on your taste (I used 3)
1 T ground cumin
1 teaspoon dried oregano
Salt and black pepper, to taste

Optional toppings: green onions, avocado slices (or guacamole), cheese, sour cream, Greek yogurt, tortilla chips, crackers, etc…

Directions: Place above ingredients into a crockpot (see note).  Cover.  Turn to high and let sit (stirring occasionally if you can).  Taste and adjust seasonings accordingly.

 

I topped mine with homemade guacamole, cheddar cheese and my favorite sauce. 

Note: If you don’t have a crockpot, cook quinoa separate in a large pot and simmer remaining ingredients in a large saucepan – starting with vegetables, then add beans. ¬†End by combining quinoa with remaining ingredients. ¬†Oh, and once you’re finished… GO BUY A CROCKPOT!

IMG_2469

Leave a Reply

