Animals · Recipes · Vegetarian

Vegetable Fried Rice

HELLO.  How is everyone’s week going so far?  Mine has been a bit stressful (I’m starting to sense a theme lately…), but I’m surviving.  And whenever I have days when I feel like everything is going wrong, I try to remember that it could always be worse.  Because, as much as I hated hearing that saying growing up,  it almost always could be worse.

I have sooooo much to be thankful for…

A good family, friends, my health, Bryan, the pups, a roof over my head, food on my plate…

When I think about these gifts I realize that a broken AC, a broken phone and a bad day at work are just parts of life.  Fixable parts. 

So, if you’re having a bad day, or a bad week, try to remember the silver lining.

Anywhoooo

Speaking of food on my plate.  I want to talk today about rice.

Bryan loves fried rice. And let’s be honest, I love fried rice too.  Who doesn’t? Unfortunately, when I order it at restaurants, it doesn’t always agree with me.

Or Bryan…

So, just like the granola bars I made over the weekend…I decided I needed to start making it at home. As it turns out, it’s one of the simplest recipes I’ve made.

IMG_2592

Don’t let the picture deceive you. I promise it’s good.

Really good.

Vegetable Fried Rice
Yield: 2-3 large servings
Adapted from All Recipes

Ingredients:

  • 3 cups vegetable broth (or water)
  • 1 medium orange pepper (red or green works too), sliced
  • 1 1/2 cups quick – cooking brown (or white) rice
  • 2 T extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 small yellow onion, chopped
  • 1 T garlic, minced
  • 1/4 teaspoon red pepper flakes
  • 3 green onions, thinly sliced
  • 3-4 T soy sauce
  • 1 can (15 oz) petite peas
  • 2 teaspoons sesame oil
  • 2 eggs
  • salt & pepper to taste

Directions:

  1. In a saucepan bring water to a boil. Stir in rice. Reduce heat, cover and simmer for 20 minutes.
  2. Meanwhile, heat olive oil in a large skillet over medium heat. Add onions, eggs, pepper, garlic, and pepper flakes, to taste. Cook 3 minutes, stirring occasionally.
  3. Increase heat to medium-high and stir in cooked rice, green onions and soy sauce. Stir-fry for 1 minute. Add peas and cook 1 minute more. Remove from heat. Add sesame oil and mix well. Sprinkle with salt and pepper (to taste) and enjoy!

IMG_2593

I added a little shredded chicken to Bryan’s and later added some grilled tofu to mine – extra protein. 🙂

_____

In other news…

I took the pups out last week on my new paddle board – did I mention Bryan got me a paddle board?  I’m beyond excited. I’ve been wanting one for awhile now. I can’t wait until it cools down here so I can use it more and more!

The pups loved it too – especially Lily. She acted like she had been on one before…

Lily PB

She’s my new little captain.  Cutest captain ever if you ask me. 🙂

Have a great night everyone.

Guess what? Tomorrow is FRIDAY!

T.G.I.F

 

 

Leave a Reply

