Health · Vegetarian

4 Vegetables for People Who Hate Vegetables

You probably already know this about me but I love vegetables.  I can’t really think of a single vegetable that I don’t like – broccoli isn’t my favorite, but I don’t hate it.

I know I’m not alone in this veggie lovin’ venture, but I also know that there are plenty of people out there who hate vegetables.  If you don’t like vegetables, you’re most likely used to avoiding most vegetable talk – but please stay with me, I’m begging you, because this post is for you.

Perhaps you find vegetables too bland, too mushy, or they remind you of terrible childhood dinners where you were forced to eat every single carrot and piece of broccoli before you were allowed to touch the chocolate cake and ice cream.

Fear not you vegetable-hater.  Somewhere out there lives a vegetable…or a family of vegetables, that’s perfect for you.

4 Vegetables for People Who Hate Vegetables

1- Eggplant.

eggplant_PNG2771.png

Eggplants belong to the nightshade family of vegetables, which also includes tomatoes, bell peppers and potatoes – a family I love very much.

While eggplants don’t have an overwhelming supply of any one nutrient, they do contain an impressive array of many vitamins and minerals, such as excellent amounts of fiber, folate, potassium and manganese, as well as vitamins C, K, and B6, phosphorus, copper, thiamin, niacin, magnesium, and pantothenic acid (source).

The most incredible thing about eggplant though, is its flexibility: it works well in recipes of all seasons, tastes and sizes.  You can use it like pizza dough and melt on tomato sauce, mix it into a panini with your favorite cheeses, fry it, and even mash it up with herbs.  Call me crazy but that doesn’t seem bland at all. 🙂

2-Butternut Squash

One of my favorites. I love me some butternut squash.

Strange-looking but oh so delish – perhaps why I like it so much. 🙂

Butternut squash provides an array of antioxidants, a large amount of vitamin C, fiber and vitamin B6. It also contains abundant minerals, including iron, zinc, calcium, potassium and phosphorus. Butternut squash is a good source of fiber and contains many antioxidants. The squash has no saturated fats or cholesterol and is often recommended for weight loss programs (source).

The seeds of butternut squash also are laden with several minerals and vitamins. Their protein, fiber and monounsaturated fatty acids make them very beneficial to heart health.

My favorite way to prepare butternut squash is to roast it with a little salt, pepper, olive oil and butter.  But you can also add it to black bean enchiladas, puree it and use it to cream pasta, cut it into cubes and throw it onto pizza.  Basically you can add butternut squash to almost any recipe.

3-Zucchini

Yes, at first glance, zucchini resembles those dreaded vegetables that you are trying to avoid in the first place- cucumbers anyone? 😉  But you’d be amazed at the things you can do with zucchini.  Your first stop?  Zucchini bread. NO BRAINER.  You can also put it on pizza (can you tell I love pizza?). Put it into tacos, cut it into thin strips and top with parmesan cheese or pesto (or both!).

It delivers good amounts of vitamin A, folate and antioxidants among other things – definitely worth missing into a recipe.

zucchini-2

4-Turnips

Turn down or turnip for what? 🙂 

Sorry, bad joke. 

I’m sure most of us can agree that turnips seem like the ultimate un-enjoyable vegetable.  But in reality, they are a surprisingly awesome option for people who don’t usually enjoy vegetables.

The key being substitution.  You can replace potatoes with turnips in a lot of recipes.  Baked potatoes, french fries, mashed potatoes – you really should listen to the Idaho native when it comes to potatoes.  And the mere fact that I’m suggesting that you replace them is a sure sign that I’m telling the truth here. 😉 The best part is, turnips have a much lower carbohydrate count, while also providing more fiber, calcium and vitamin C.  Don’t get me wrong, I love me some potatoes, but sometimes a little variance is nice. 🙂

With that said, go get your veggies on!

Hope everyone is having a wonderful weekend.  I had a great day – Bryan took me diving. We saw 7 loggerhead sea turtles, an octopus, moray eels and a few squid.  Tomorrow I plan on getting out on the water again and doing some paddle boarding. 🙂

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

