Health · Popular · Vegetarian

Sweet Potato Black Bean Bowl.

I’ll be honest, I’m not a huge planner.  I mean, there are some things I like to have planned ahead – trips, dinner dates etc. but for the most part, I’m more of a go with the flow kind of gal.

I blame it in on my indecisiveness…

Just ask Bryan, anytime he asks me “what to you want to do?” or “where do you want to go?”  My response is almost always…

“I dunno.”

Followed quickly by…

“What do YOU want to do?”  “Where do YOU want to go?”

With that said, sometimes it’s really difficult for me to decide what I want for lunch and dinner.  So this week, between working late and Bryan being away, I decided to plan most of my meals ahead of time.

I admit this was a challenge for me, but it’s going quite well if I do say so myself.

First up? This delicious bowl of goodness…

IMG_2898

To make this delicious make ahead meal I cooked a medley of rice and quinoa (see picture below), the sweet potato and broccoli the night before then put it all together the following morning for lunch.

IMG_2890

Here’s what to do:

Sweet Potato Black Bean Bowl
(adapted from here)

Cut a sweet potato in half, poke several holes all over it with a fork, and bake at 400ºF until tender (this usually takes about 40 minutes). Then layer it with 1/2 cup of cooked black beans, 1/2 cup of cooked brown rice & quinoa blend (or just rice)1/2 cup of cooked broccoli florets, and a quarter of an avocado, sliced. To spice up the flavor, I added smoked paprika, cayenne pepper, garlic powder, salt, and ground black pepper.  Then I topped it with a scoop of my favorite sauce. 

IMG_2901

IMG_2900

This was the perfect blend of protein, grains, veggies and goodness – Buddy and Lily agree!  It even makes enough for 2 lunches.  Bonus!

Hope everyone is having a good week so far.

Leave a Reply

