Recipes · Vegetarian

Refreshing Cucumber & Tomato Salad

Remember when I said I LOVE vegetables?  Well, the more I thought about it, I realized that LOVE is a very strong word – not to be used lightly. 😉

So, to correct myself, I’m changing it to I love ALMOST all vegetables and I just like the rest.  Broccoli for example, is on my like list.  Another vegetable I’m having a difficult time professing my love for?

Cucumbers.

Unless they are dipped in ranch or hummus, cucumbers don’t taste like anything IMO.  But, they do have some health benefits – although they don’t have as many as a lot of other vegetables.  On top of all of that, cucumbers are mostly made up of water.  Remember, I live in Florida so it’s hot, making it easy to get dehydrated without even realizing it.

So, last week while I was at the grocery store, I felt brave and I purchased a cucumber – if you read closely, you’ll notice I said last week….

Yup.  It sat in my refrigerator for over a week.  Unloved and untouched.

Poor, sad cucumber.

WOMP. WOMP. WOMP.

Yesterday, I finally decided to give it some lovin’ and make this refreshing and light salad.  It can be served as a side dish, or you can add some protein (tofu anyone?) and make a meal out of it.

IMG_2979

Refreshing Cucumber & Tomato Salad
Yield 2 servings

Ingredients:

  • 1 medium cucumber of choice, chopped (remove skin if desired)
  • 1/4 cup chopped red onion
  • 1/2 orange pepper, chopped
  • Handful of cherry tomatoes (I left them whole)
  • 2 T chopped basil – I didn’t have fresh so I settle for dry, but highly recommend fresh!
  • 1/2 T extra virgin olive oil
  • 1/2 T fresh garlic, minced
  • 3 T balsamic vinaigrette salad dressing
  • salt and pepper to taste

Directions: In a large bowl, combine the tomato, cucumber, red onion, orange pepper and basil. Just before serving, toss with balsamic vinaigrette salad dressing & olive oil, and season with salt and pepper.

IMG_2980

There you have it.  An easy way to stay more hydrated (always drink water too!), while enjoying (and liking) cucumbers.

____

And a few more things before I go…

IMG_2985

How cute is this picture of Lily and Buddy? Sometimes in the mornings when I get up before them, they like to peak downstairs to see what I’m up to. 🙂 Sneaky rascals.

I also wanted to share one of my new favorite coffee beverages.

IMG_2967

Have y’all heard of Cold Brew coffee?  Take my word for it…

Amazing.  I’ve been drinking Stok brand – I buy it at the grocery store here, but I’ve seen several other brands and also know that Starbucks and Dunkin Donuts serves it.  Give it a try!

Have I ever let you down before? 🙂

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

