Health · Recipes · Vegetarian

Banana Nut Bread Overnight Oats.

Good morning and Happy Monday y’all (is there such a thing?).  Hope everyone had a good weekend and you’re all off to a good start for the week ahead. 🙂

And if not, I’m about to make it a little bit better – that’s my intention anyway…

I’ve said it before, and I’ll say it again: I love me some overnight oats. There I go again, just tossing around that L word.  But this time, I actually mean it, I do love them. I love them uhhhhh-lot. 

IMG_3002

I was first introduced to Overnight Oats about six years ago when I became vegan.  And while I’m no longer vegan, I am still eating a primarily plant-based diet. I also still appreciate a good, hearty breakfast.

Overnight oats are perfectly yummy and filling, and packed with protein and fiber.  I love it particularly for early mornings when I’m in a hurry and need something I can grab quick right before I head out the door.  Cold straight from the fridge, or heated up a smidge with a little more almond milk – it’s your breakfast so you make the call. 🙂

Precisely what I did…

For this recipe, I wanted to add a little more flavor – sometimes I get sick of the plain oat flavor so I try to spice things up by adding mix ins.   This weekends choice: mashed banana, sliced almonds and maple syrup.

IMG_2999

Banana Nut Bread Overnight Oats
Yield: serves 1

Ingredients:

1 small banana, mashed
1 T sliced almonds (or other nut of choice)
1/4 teaspoon cinnamon
1 T peanut butter
Pinch of nutmeg and sea salt
1/4 cup oats
3/4 cups almond milk (or milk of choice)
1 T chia seeds
1/2 teaspoon pure maple syrup

Directions: Add all ingredients to a medium bowl (I used glass tupperware because it’s easy to cover and grab and go the next day).  Give it a gentle stir to combine everything.  Cover and let sit overnight in the refrigerator (or for at least 30 minutes).

Feel free to make several of these ahead of time — they keep well covered up in the refrigerator for a couple of days and the flavors blend together better the longer they sit. 🙂

I can feel it, it’s going to be an Overnight Oats kinda week. 🙂 Prepare to see some more recipes coming your way…

Any ideas?

 

Leave a Reply

