Animals · Photos

Trip to Naples, Florida

Last weekend Bryan and I went on a spontaneous road to to Naples, Florida – a city on the Gulf of Mexico in southwest Florida, known for its high-end shopping and fancy golf courses.

The Naples area’s recent ranking by the National Golf Foundation as No. 1 in the nation for its 1,530 golf holes ? a per hole population of 212 ? also has led to a series of lawsuits filed by golfers seeking refunds after many years on clubs’ waiting lists (source). 

Bryan and I didn’t do any golfing (or shopping).  Instead, we spent our time enjoying delicious food, playing in the warm, Gulf Coast water and birding.  It was such a fun trip – I don’t know about you, but last-minute trips are my favorite. 🙂  I find that I have more fun when I don’t really have a to-do list.

Here are some pictures of our adventure.

IMG_3007

When we arrived, we stopped at Delnor-Wiggins State Park because (you guessed it), I wanted to do some paddle boarding.

IMG_3020

Bryan was hesitant to ride on the paddle board as a duo but I wanted to give it a try. 🙂 It was challenging to balance at first but once we got the hang of it, it was smooth sailing.

IMG_3016

About 10 minutes in, we went around a corner and were surprised (I actually cursed very loudly at Bryan – he thought I had fallen off the board) by a bottlenose dolphin.  The dolphin met up with two of his buddies and we watched as they stunned fish by flipping them into the air with their flukes then grabbing them with their beaks.  Incredible site to see.

IMG_3026After I settled down (lets be real, I never really settled down), we kept going and came across this little spot.

IMG_3061

Sometimes the things you’re most afraid of are the things that make you happiest ☺️

IMG_3034

We saw a few shore birds that neither one of us had seen before, including this reddish egret – unfortunately Bryan didn’t have his camera so we were stuck with my crummy pics.

IMG_3039

IMG_3067

After checking in to the hotel and a quick dip in the pool, we got ready and went to dinner at this nice little restaurant on the beach – it was expensive, but my salmon sandwich (pictured here), was delicious and so was the view.  Bryan knows how much I love me some sunrises and sunsets, so he made sure we made it there on time.

IMG_3075

We only get sunrises in West Palm Beach, so it was nice to see a sunset.

The following morning we got up and went to Corkscrew Swamp Sanctuary to do some birding.  We saw several woodpeckers, a tufted titmouse and some warblers. Unfortunately, I didn’t get any pictures of them because they were too quick!

I did sneak a picture of this guy though…

IMG_3090

Such a great trip!  I love my adventures with this incredible man.

Hope everyone is having a nice week. 🙂

 

 

Leave a Reply

