Recipes · Vegetarian

Chocolate Chip Cookies.

I had a confession on my Facebook page a few days ago but just in case you missed it…

Drum roll please...

I’m terrible at baking cookies.  I don’t know what it is about making these delectable treats but it never fails that they go into the oven looking delicious, and come out looking like pancakes, or they are overcooked and hard, or not cooked enough…the list goes on and on.

Over the years I have gotten fed up with dealing with the dreaded cookie outcome, so I started purchasing store-bought cookie dough.  You know, the kind that comes pre-cut and all you have to do is throw it onto a baking sheet, cook for ten minutes and call it a day.  Is that considered cheating?

Cheater, cheater, store-bought cookie eater…

Last week, as Bryan and I were shoving our faces with cookies, he joked, “yum, you make the best homemade cookies.”  I took this as a challenge, and I don’t know about you, but I’m always up for a good challenge.

Challenge accepted Bryan.  Challenge accepted.

I saw this recipe on Allrecipes.com.  The website labels them as the Best Chocolate Chip Cookies so I figured even I couldn’t mess up the BEST cookies.

Guess what? 

I managed to screw up the BEST chocolate chip cookies…  In the picture on Allrecipes they look round, thick and delicious and here’s how mine turned out…

IMG_3131

Giant, flat, lifeless pancakes.  Fortunately, they actually tasted great.  Hey, my mom always told me never to judge a book by its cover.

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Yield: ~12 large cookies, 24 small
Adapted from Allrecipes

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup butter, softened
  • 1 cup white sugar
  • 1 cup light brown sugar
  • 1 egg + 1 egg yolk
  • 1 T pure vanilla extract
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • pinch sea salt
  • 2 cups semi-sweet chocolate chips
  • 2 teaspoons hot water

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 F.
  2. Cream together the butter, white sugar, and brown sugar until smooth. Beat in the eggs one at a time, then stir in the vanilla. Dissolve baking soda in hot water. Add to batter along with salt. Stir in flour, chocolate chips, and nuts. Drop by large spoonfuls onto uncreased pans.
  3. Bake for about 10 minutes in the preheated oven, or until edges are nicely browned.

 

After the first batch came out flat, I decided to get creative and put some dough into a muffin tin – this was my attempt at making the cookies thicker…

Don’t judge me.

Here’s how they turned out.

IMG_3128
I spy a photo bomb…

Not too shabby, eh? 

So, all in all, they tasted pretty darn good, but they looked terrible.

My question for you is do y’all have any pointers? How do you make your chocolate chip cookies fluffy and delicious? 

My friend Monika recommended that I add the eggs at the end (just before the chocolate chips) and don’t over-mix. Popping the batter in the fridge for up to 30 mins before baking helps, as does slightly under-cooking them. 

These all sound like great tips to me!  Thanks Monika.

On that note, hope everyone has a wonderful Monday.  I’m off today and Bryan left this morning for another work trip 😦 so I’m keeping myself busy by preparing some meals for the week and I’m going to attempt to make homemade soap!  Wish me luck.

 

 

Leave a Reply

