Health · Popular · Recipes · Vegetarian

Roasted Vegetable Burritos

Hello September.  How did you sneak up on us so fast?

Sneaky lil’ September Snake…

Anytime a new month begins I have a hard time believing it.  Where does the time go?  If you figure it out let me know.  Perhaps it’s locked up in some secret time vault somewhere?  Who knows…

All I know (and I’m sure you’ll agree) is that time flies.  I mean, it really flies.

And speaking of time,  Bryan is away again – the only time when time doesn’t actually fly for me, which lately, is a lot.  So, I spent my Monday this week preparing some meals for me, myself and I.  It’s so much simpler (no offense Bryan) to cook for just me! Don’t you agree? 🙂  You can make whatever you want without worrying about what someone else is going to think, and almost always, you have leftovers.

I saw this recipe on one of my new favorite blogs Budget Bytes because as y’all know by now, I’m a bit of a cheapskate AND I’m all about simple, healthy recipes. Oh, and I love burritos. Let’s be real.

These burritos were so simple to make and I had so many leftover that I’ve been eating them all week!  What’s even better is that I still have some stowed away in the freezer for those days when I’m feeling extra lazy…and ravenous. 🙂

IMG_3157

Roasted Vegetable Burritos
Yield: ~10 burritos
Adapted from BudgetBytes

Ingredients:

  • 1½ cups dry white rice
  • 1 tsp salt
  • ½ Tbsp chili powder
  • 1 large zucchini
  • 1 small white onion
  • 1 large red bell pepper
  • 8 oz. mushrooms of choice
  • ½ tsp salt
  • ½ tsp cumin
  • 2 Tbsp olive oil
  • 10 medium flour tortillas
  • 2 cups black beans
  • 2½ cups shredded cheese
  • 1 bunch cilantro

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Chop the zucchini, bell pepper, onion, and mushrooms into bite-sized pieces. Toss the vegetables with 2 Tbsp olive oil, ½ tsp salt and ½ tsp cumin. Spread the vegetables out over a large sheet pan and roast for 40 minutes, stirring once half way through.
  2. Combine the rice in a medium pot with 1 tsp of salt and ½ Tbsp of chili powder. Add 3 cups of water, place a lid on top, and bring up to a boil over high heat. As soon as it reaches a full boil, turn the heat down to the lowest setting and allow it to simmer for 20 minutes. After 20 minutes, turn the heat off and let it sit undisturbed until you’re ready to assemble the burritos. Fluff rice just before using.
  3. When you’re ready to make the burritos, stack a few tortillas on a large plate, place a paper towel over top, and microwave for 15 seconds.
  4. Start adding desired amount of rice, black beans,  roasted vegetables, shredded cheese and cilantro leaves on a tortilla.  Roll the burrito tightly and wrap in plastic until ready to eat.  Serve with sour cream of course!

 

Roasting vegetables brings out their flavor.
IMG_3149
I ate one of the burritos right away…okay, okay, I ate two.  Don’t judge me.  But I still had 8 burritos to eat throughout the week!
IMG_3155
I wrapped a few in plastic wrap and put them in a freezer safe bag for later, and put the rest in my fridge.  I don’t know about you, but I rarely get sick of burritos.
Okay, so before I go, I had to let y’all know some news…good and bad.  Which would you like first?
I’ll start with the bad.
My sweet Lily girl has hurt herself again. 😦  Some of you probably don’t know but about 7 years ago, miss Lily had back surgery and luckily, she’s done well ever since – I can tell she still gets sore at times, but overall, she’s been able to live her life as a happy and healthy pup.  But a few days ago, she jumped off the couch – something I try to prevent, and hurt her neck.  She now has a disc in her neck pushing against her spine.  😦  She’s currently on meds and strict bed rest for a month!!!  Can I just say it’s close to impossible to keep a dog on bed rest?! I mean, at least with a human you can explain what’s happening, but miss Lily keeps looking at me with those puppy dog eyes like “why are you doing this to me mom?”  Heartbreaking.
IMG_3210
Do me a favor and keep her in your thoughts.  I’m optimistic that she’s going to pull through and another surgery won’t be necessary.
On to the good news…
I MADE SOAP!
IMG_3172
I’m so excited about this!!! It was so simple and fun and I look forward to making more and more!
Have a great Friday y’all!

 

Leave a Reply

