Photos

Labor Day Weekend.

I had three days off this weekend – in a row!  This is a rare, but oh-so-exciting occasion for me and to celebrate, I promised myself I would get out more.

Sure, I do things – birding with Bryan, walking, cooking,  diving etc. but I’ll be the first to admit, I’m a bit of a hermit at times.  This weekend, I made a vow to myself (literally…don’t judge me) to change that, and guess what?  I had an incredible weekend. I wanted to share some photos that I took from my hermit-less weekend…

IMG_3237

Okay, okay, so Saturday I did spend a little time watching my alma mater, the Boise State Broncos, play their first game of the season.  And yes, that is a shot of my computer screen – no cable in this house folks.  Go Broncos. 

After peeling my butt off of the couch, I met up with my friend Rachel to do some paddle boarding.  We met around 5p and right when we got to the parking lot a huge storm rolled in so we made a game time decision to go have a drink and wait it out.

I’m so glad we did…

IMG_3249

By the time we got back, all the holiday weekenders had fled so we had the water to ourselves.  Oh, and this beautiful double rainbow.

IMG_3280

IMG_3243

We stayed just long enough to watch the sun go down – you know how much I love me some sunsets.

 

IMG_3257

The next morning I got up early and treated myself to an iced coffee.  I usually just drink my coffee at home, but sometimes you have to treat yourself. 🙂

IMG_3258

After guzzling my coffee, I met with some new friends at one of my new favorite places – Coral Cove Park.    It was beautiful but after a few hours, I felt my skin melting from the sun so I headed home to snuggle with this little nugget.

IMG_3233

She’s feeling much better by the way, but I’m still a cautious momma and have her on bed rest for another few weeks.

IMG_3267

This morning, I was up early again for another paddle boarding excursion.

IMG_3270

Right when we arrived, we spotted a big spotted eagle ray – see what I did there? 😉  These have quickly become one of my favorite fish.  This one swam with me for quite some time. We are in love.  I named him Ray. Clever I know.

IMG_3273

Something I learned about my friend Rachel today is that she’s TERRIFIED of spiders.  I mean, really terrified.  The picture above proves it.  After almost paddling straight into a spider web occupied by a large orb-weaver, Rachel decided it was a better idea to take a plunge into the murky, nasty water.  I wasn’t a very good friend because I couldn’t stop laughing.

IMG_3274

After that, we decided it was a good idea to pop open a bottle of champagne.  This cheered Rachel right up.

What a great weekend. 🙂

I don’t know about you, but I often find myself questioning if I made the right decisions that led me to where I am today.  Weekends like these make me realize that I’m in the right place during this time of my life and I’m grateful for all those decisions I made along the way.

IMG_3252

And guess what? Bryan gets back tomorrow. Yippee.  Having him away so often has been difficult, but I’m adjusting and learning that the key is to stay busy and not be such a hermit. 🙂

Happy Labor Day y’all.  Enjoy these last few hours.  I plan to.

 

Leave a Reply

