Dairy Free · Fish · Recipes

5-Minute Seared Ahi Tuna Steaks

Last week Bryan brought home some fresh ahi tuna from his Bahamas trip and I’ll be honest, I have never cooked tuna.  I actually don’t cook a lot of fish period. You may not know this about me, but I didn’t start eating fish again until a few years ago when I moved to south Florida. And while I do eat fish now, it’s usually only when I go out to eat – and it’s primarily sushi (which ironically, isn’t cooked at all…).  Otherwise, Bryan usually does the fish cookin‘ in our house – he makes the BEST fish tacos ever.  Needless to say, I knew I had to figure out a way to cook this delicious, fresh fish that Bryan brought home.

In stepped Google. 🙂  (How did we survive before the Google?)

Almost all of the recipes I found suggested cooking it “restaurant style” – a simple, elegant way to cook it that only involves a few ingredients and very minimal cooking.

I found two recipes I wanted to try so I split the steaks up into two pans and tried both, but the recipe I’m sharing is by far my favorite – pictured on the left in the picture below.

img_3363

5-Minute Seared Ahi Tuna Steaks
Yield: serves 2-3 (big servings)
Adjusted from bowlofdelicious

Ingredients:

  • 2 ahi tuna steaks
  • 2 T soy sauce
  • 1 T extra virgin olive oil
  • S & P to taste
  • 1-2 T sesame seeds
  • dash of cayenne pepper

Instructions:

  1. Cut tuna steaks into 1 inch cubes (*see note). Cover steaks with soy sauce, oil, salt, pepper, and cayenne. Marinate in a container or bag for ten minutes (or overnight), if you have time.  Place sesame seeds in a small bowl and cover edges of marinated steaks in seeds.
  2. Heat a medium skillet on medium-high heat until hot.
  3. Sear tuna for 1.5 – 3 minutes on each side depending on how you like it cooked – 1.5 on each side for rare (how I prefer it) 2 on each side for medium rare, 3 on each side for medium.

*Note: The original recipe doesn’t suggest slicing the steak until after it’s cooked, I prefer to do it before but it’s up to you!

That’s it! Can you believe it?! 

img_3364

I served it alongside couscous and steamed broccoli, then dipped it in dijon mustard (my love of dijon mustard is a separate post).  YUM!  Restaurants would swoon over this recipe. 😉

Hope everyone is having a great week so far and if you’re not, this should help…

img_3373

How cute is he?  Love him to the moon and back.

Have a great Thursday y’all!  Friday is just around the corner…

One thought on “5-Minute Seared Ahi Tuna Steaks

Leave a Reply

