Animals · Dairy Free · Recipes · Vegan · Vegetarian

10 Minute Homemade Salsa.

I’m not sure if you saw the picture last week on my Facebook page with the crazy amount of produce I scored for only $18.00.

Well, in case you missed it…

p

That’s a lot of produce (bread too!) for 18 bucks if you ask me.

Now, do me a favor.  Take a look at the bottom of the photo.  You’ll notice the container full of tomatoes.  Well, I hate to admit it, but I rarely buy that many tomatoes all at once.  It’s not that I don’t love me some tomatoes, but I find that whenever I buy a large bundle, they go bad before I eat them.  And there’s something I haven’t told you about me: I HATE wasting food. I know hate is a strong word, but I truly hate it.

As expected, almost a week after my mass produce purchase, everything has been consumed except for a few tomatoes.

WOMP. WOMP…

This morning I started feeling guilty as I stared at their puckered and wrinkled bodies.  I knew I only had two options: 1) eat them now, or 2) toss ’em.  Unfortunately, I was fresh out of tomato ideas.

Pun intended…pun is always intended.

150-cartoon-tomato-cherry-joke

Luckily, Bryan saved the day…

And the tomatoes…

We went paddle boarding for a few hours this morning and when we got home, he opened the fridge and asked “do we have any salsa.” 

img_3408

Ding. Ding. Ding. Bryan, you’re a genius.

Ten minutes later, we had salsa.

img_3409

10 Minute Homemade Salsa
Yield: 2-3 servings

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups chopped ripe tomatoes
  • 1/2 small white onion, chopped
  • 1/4 yellow pepper, chopped
  • 1/4 orange pepper, chopped (feel free to use any color pepper you wish – these two are my favorite)
  • 2 teaspoons garlic, minced
  • Salt & Pepper, to taste
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cumin
  • 1/3 cup fresh cilantro, finely chopped
  • 1 T fresh squeezed lime juice

Instructions:

Stir the tomatoes, pepper, onion, cilantro, lime juice, cumin, salt and pepper in a bowl. Serve.  Enjoy!

Enjoy by the spoonful…

img_3411

Or scoop with your favorite chips.

img_3412

Hope everyone is having a wonderful weekend so far.  I’ve just been enjoying having Bryan home. 🙂

Oh, and good news.  Lily had her re-check yesterday and she’s doing much better! Thanks for sending us your positive vibes. 🙂

Happy Sunday.

 

Leave a Reply

