Comfort Food · Popular · Recipes

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp.

I’m going to start this post by apologizing for the terrible pictures…it was late, I was craving something sweet and at the time…

I didn’t really give a damn.  

My B…

Please forgive me?  I’m sure we have all been there.

With that said, please don’t let these terrible photographs fool you.  This dessert will not disappoint.  So set my photography (or lack of) skills aside for a moment and trust me on this one.

img_3398

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp.
Yield: ~5 servings
Adapted from All Recipes

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup all purpose baking flour
  • 1/2 cup light brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon, split
  • 1/4 teaspoon nutmeg
  • pinch of sea salt
  • 1/2 cup butter, cut into chunks
  • 1/2 cup chopped mixed nuts (walnuts would be best, but I didn’t have any, so I used a variety)
  • 1/3 cup white sugar
  • 1 T cornstarch
  • 6 cups apples – peeled, cored and chopped (I didn’t peel them and I immediately regretted that decision)
  • 2 T fresh lemon juice

Instructions:

  1. Mix flour, brown sugar, 1/2 cup of white sugar, 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon, nutmeg, and salt together in a bowl. Combine butter with the flour mixture using fingers or a fork until coarse crumbs form. Stir in nuts and set aside.
  2. Whisk together 1/3 cup sugar, cornstarch, and 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon. Place the apples in a slow cooker, stir in the cornstarch mixture; toss with lemon juice. Sprinkle the walnut crumb topping on top. Cover and cook on high for 2 hours or Low for 4 hours, until apples are tender. Partially uncover the slow cooker to allow the topping to harden, about 1 hour.

The apples are covered with a cinnamony/nutmegy topping to make a warm and comforting dessert… An easy way to make a wonderful comfort food using those upcoming abundant fall apples! Serve with vanilla ice cream (duh).

img_3400

Plus, I don’t know about you, but I always feel a little less guilty when I have fruit for dessert… 😉

Have a great Monday everyone.

Leave a Reply

