Dairy Free · Popular · Recipes · Vegan

Mystical Mango Smoothie.

Happy Saturday y’all.  Hope your weekend is treating you well. 

Mine is so far.  Today was an eventful and tiring day – I’ve been doing a lot of pet sitting lately and today I had three dogs who all needed some love and attention while their owners are away.   This meant a lot of walking…I mean uhh-lot of walking.   Hey, it’s good exercise for me too, right?

After the early morning walks, I went to an aerial yoga class – something I’ve been wanting to do for awhile, but for some reason I kept making countless excuses not to go.  Courage, money and scheduling to name a few. But not today. I put on my yoga pants, filled up my water bottle and…

img_3466

LOVED IT!  It was hard to get used to at first, but once I got the swing (teehee) of things, I got better and better.  Don’t get me wrong, there were moments I felt like I was going to fall flat on my face, but that’s what I loved about it – it challenged me.

After class, I came home feeling proud and famished.  I wanted something quick, refreshing and healthy – I don’t know about y’all but whenever I work out, I crave healthy food.  Unfortunately we don’t have a lot of food in our house right now, but fortunately, I’m usually pretty good at getting creative.

Today, I’m happy to share the “Mystical Mango” smoothie! It’s so energizing and makes you feel refreshed almost instantly. Even Bryan wanted some.

I fell in love with this smoothie’s thick and creamy texture and sweet, tangy flavor. It would make a perfect breakfast drink to pair with a bowl of Chia Overnight Oats.

img_3475

 

Mystical Mango Smoothie
Yield: serves 1 (I could have easily eaten all of it but Bryan stole some)

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 cup orange juice
  • 1/2 cup coconut water
  • 1 cup frozen (or fresh) mango
  • 1 medium frozen banana, peeled
  • 1/2 T chia seeds
  • a few ice cubes

Directions:
Place all ingredients in a high speed blender and blend until smooth and creamy.  If the mixture seems a bit too thick, add more coconut water.

Mangos contain enzymes and vitamins A, C, and E that cleanse the liver and aid digestion, and its potassium and fibre help regulate blood pressure and cholesterol. This smoothie is sure to make your heart happy. And your skin and nails too!

Have a great weekend y’all. 🙂

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

