Health · Popular · Things I'm Lovin'

5 Things I’m Lovin’ Lately

I’ve always been a very indecisive individual (just ask Bryan).  It’s hard enough for me to decide what I want to do each day, let alone what I want to eat.

When people discover that I’m a vegetarian, they often ask me what my favorite foods are, and what are my favorite products (hair care, lotion etc…). Honestly, I go through major kicks with food and products. For several years, I ate so many bananas, and now I can barely bring myself to eat half of one – I do because I know they are good for me, but usually I have to blend them into smoothies.

Today I decided that I want to try something new and start a series about Things I’m Lovin’ Lately – they will range anywhere from food, to quotes, to toiletries.  So enjoy!

Anyways, here are the things I’m lovin’ lately.  Ask me in a month and I’ll probably want nothing to do with them.  (Oh, and you may notice a theme with some of them… I’ll explain later).

1- Canned Pumpkin

I’m not sure if you’re aware but it’s October people, get it together. And if you’re anything like me, October means everything pumpkin.  Pumpkin spice lattes, pumpkin pie, pumpkin muffins, and of course, pumpkin smoothies (oh don’t you worry, that recipe is soon to come).

img_3897

I love canned pumpkin because it allows you to enjoy the health benefits associated with pumpkin flesh without the lengthy process of selecting, baking and pureeing it. Canned pumpkin is low in calories (~82 calories per cup) but offers lots of nutritional value in the form of fiber, minerals and vitamins!  Woohooo! Great job canned pumpkin.

Include pumpkin in healthful baked goods like muffins or bread. Try adding a spoonful of it to your overnight oats, and then garnish them with chopped pecans and maple syrup for added flavor. Canned pumpkin mixed with milk, sage and a dollop of unflavored Greek yogurt also makes for a healthful pasta sauce that has a creamy texture without the fat. Yum!

2-Candied Canned Yams (say that five times fast!)

Are you noticing a theme yet? 🙂 You got it, a lot of the things I’m lovin’ lately are canned (not to mention, convenient).  In preparation for Hurricane Matthew I was told by many Floridians to buy some canned goods to have around just in case I didn’t have power for awhile.  Luckily, I never lost power, but now I have a cabinet of canned goods to consume.

img_3899

These yams are delish!  This homemade recipe for yams (sweet potatoes) dates back to the founders of Bruce’s Yams. This sweet alternative to normal yams gives you the feeling of Ole Time Southern hospitality in every can (source).

Most people enjoy candied yams baked in the oven with toasted marshmallows on top but not this gal.  I love them simmered on the stovetop and served in a bowl.

These yams are packed with 290% daily value of Vitamin A per every 1/2 cup and did I mention they are delish?!

3-Coconut Oil

It’s 2016 so if you haven’t heard or used coconut oil you must have been stuck on another planet.

img_3896

The benefits of coconut oil beyond just something that tastes good and is easy to cook with. Coconut oil has been around for hundreds of years and used in many cultures to take care of the body. The uses are very wide and combine both topical and internal remedies. The markets are now being flooded with this oil and even Costco is carry large inexpensive bins of organic raw coconut oil. Cultures that use this in the long term seem to have better energy, skin, and overall health. Coconut oil is very medicinal and once you learn about these top benefits, you’ll most likely be excited to incorporate it into your diet and personal hygiene (source).

I love using coconut oil in my homemade soaps, on my hair/scalp and skin – it’s an excellent topical treatment for dry skin and scalp. The fatty acids are organic and will be easily absorbed into the skin without clogging the pores like a petroleum based lotion would. I also love using coconut oil in place of butter for a healthier way of cooking.

4- Baby Food Pouches. 

img_3895

Feel free to judge me for this one… I’m often judged by co-workers and Bryan but I love these things!!!  Bryan always asks me, “are you a baby?!” Ha. My response is always “no, but I wish they had these when I was one because they are freakin’ awesome sauce (literally)!” 

I love them because not only are they delicious, but they are so convenient AND healthy!  Whenever I get too busy at work to sit down and have a snack (I’m a snacker), I just reach for one of these and slurp it down (at the disgust of my co-workers).  They have several brands and different flavors and one little pouch is usually between 50-100 calories and packed with vitamins and minerals.  Maybe not a significant snack, but I feel like it’s better than nothing and they always hold me over until lunch.  Squeeze away! 🙂

5- Raspberries

img_3898

You may find this shocking but I’m not a huge fruit person.  Don’t get me wrong, I love fruit but I prefer vegetables over fruit.  Hey, they say dare to be different.  

With that said, when I’m buying groceries I almost always reach for berries as my fruit source.  I love blueberries, blackberries & raspberries and lately I’ve been lovin’ raspberries.  Again, this could change in a month, but for now I can’t get enough of these wonderfully delicious, bright-red berries.

Raspberries are a rich source of Vitamin C, manganese and fiber.  They are also very low in calories and fat, making them the perfect fruit to snack on.

Now it’s your turn.  Tell me what you’re lovin’ lately…

 

2 thoughts on “5 Things I’m Lovin’ Lately

Leave a Reply

