Health · Smoothies · Uncategorized · Vegetarian

Pumpkin Pie Smoothie for One.

Ahhhhhhh yes, it’s finally October, which for most of you means the start of a new season- falling leaves, shorter days, and time to stow away shorts and flip flops and bring out your sweaters and boots.  And for all of us, the beginning of everything PUMPKIN.  Remember, I live in Florida so while I don’t ever swap flip flops for boots, I still want everything pumpkin this time of year.

Let’s be real, I always want everything pumpkin

Now leeeeesten close.  Do you heeeeeer me? 🙂 Make this today, then make it again tonight and again tomorrow – especially if it’s starting to cool down where you live and your smoothie time is running out!  It’s so simple to throw together and quite possibly the most delectable thing you’ll ever put in your mouth.

It’s a pumpkin smoothie and it’s going to rock your world.

I admit, I had my doubts the first time I made a pumpkin smoothie.  I imagined a watery, lifeless blob that tasted like two-week old pumpkin pie.  Gross.  But to my surprise, it turned out to be one of the creamiest most scrumptious things I’ve had in awhile.

img_3912

 

Pumpkin Smoothie for One
Yield: Serves 1 (duh)

Ingredients:

1/2 can pumpkin pie filling- I froze mine in a separate container but it’s not necessary
1/2 banana, frozen
1/4 cup vanilla Greek yogurt
1.5 cups non-dairy milk (or regular milk if you wish)
dash of cinnamon and nutmeg
Optional (but highly recommended) whip cream topping

Directions:

Well ahead of time, place pumpkin pie filling into a freezer-safe container. Freeze for a few hours or until frozen solid (again, this is optional, but if you choose not to freeze the filling, I recommend adding a few ice cubes).

To make the smoothie, add milk, and yogurt to a blender. Drop in the frozen pumpkin pie filling and frozen banana and blend until smooth. Add more milk or yogurt as needed to get it the consistency you’d like – I like them thick!

Pour into a glass and serve immediately! Oh, and top with whip cream of course. 🙂

img_3910

Enjoy!

And before I go…I must wish this little nugget a Happy Birthday!!! My sweet Lily girl turned 11 years young yesterday.  This dog has been with me through almost all of my trials and tribulations.  She has never once judged me like many people have.  Instead, she has been my most loyal companion, always there to greet me with her adorable face and wag of her tail.  She is independent and grumpy and I love her to pieces. Looking forward to spending many more years with her by my side. XO

IMG_2422

“Dogs have a way of finding the people who need them, feeling an emptiness we don’t even know we have.” – Thom Jones

 

Leave a Reply

