Recipes · Vegetarian

Simple Pumpkin Tacos for One.

Hello and happy Monday y’all. :) Mondays happen to be my favorite day of the week, unlike most people, because I don’t have to work.  Mwhahahhaha (I said that in my evilest voice, which is proving to not be so evil).  

Today, I’m going to help you get through the Monday blues by continuing with my pumpkin theme. 

Why?  You ask…

Well, because as you know, I LOVE PUMPKIN. Plus I had some leftover pumpkin from the smoothies I made so I wanted to use it up ASAP.  There is absolutely NO pumpkin wasting in this house.

Vegetarian tacos make me happy.  Yes, I know most people think beef, chicken and fish are what make tacos taste so good, but not this gal.  It’s all about the “other” filling for me.  Not only are vegetarian tacos versatile and easy to make, they also inspire old memories of my childhood.

Taco Night was always one of my favorite nights in the Dancer household.  It’s one of my first memories where I was actually allowed to “assemble” my own meal! Just grab an empty hard or soft taco shell and dive right into the wide variety of fillings.  And mom’s job was easy.  Create the giant spread and let the kids do their own work.  A winwin for everybody involved.

Back then I wasn’t a vegetarian so my taco shells were usually stuffed ground beef, lettuce, tomato, sour cream and cheese. BORRRRRINNNNGGGG!  That’s another thing about vegetarian tacos – no meat equals more room for the good stuff. 😉

These tacos weren’t really inspired by anything special.  Just a gal in the kitchen grabbing some ingredients and hoping for a good meal.

img_3950

Simple Pumpkin Tacos for One.
Yield: Serves 1

Ingredients:

  • 2 hard (or soft) taco shells
  • ~1/3 cup pumpkin puree (I used about 1.5T per taco shell)
  • a few handfuls baby spinach, finely chopped
  • 1 small Roma tomato, sliced
  • 1/4 cup garbanzo beans
  • small handful (or large!) shredded cheese
  • salt & pepper to taste
  • Additional toppings: Fresh cilantro, sour cream and guacamole

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350F.  Add pumpkin, garbanzo beans and cheese to taco shell and place on a cooking sheet.

img_3948

Cook for 3-5 minutes then add remaining ingredients. Sprinkle with salt and pepper and enjoy!

My only regret was that I had zero sour cream and guacamole.  Sad. 😦 But they were still delish!  Black beans would have also made a good addition.

img_3951

Mexican food is beautiful. Don’t you agree?  Perhaps this is why I make it so often. Fresh, bright, complex. What’s not to love about that?

Feel free to add whatever you would like to these tacos and please let me know how they turn out.

Enjoy your week everyone.  Bryan and I are headed to Pennsylvania on Thursday to visit his family.  I’m looking forward to it! I’ve never been so it should be a good time. 🙂

Oh, and before I go…

img_3966

Here are some adorable pictures for you.

fullsizeoutput_140b

How cute are these two?  Almost too cute sometimes.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

