Appetizers · Popular · Recipes · Vegetarian

Easy & Delicious Bruschetta.

I’m having one of my blah days where I wake up (after 10 solid hours of rest!) and I just feel blah.  There really is no other word to describe it.

BLAH.

I blame several things for my complete and utter blahness:  #1) PMS – there is no stopping that, and while some people (mostly men) think this is an excuse, trust me, it’s a real thing. Right ladies? #2) Bryan traveling so much – I can’t seem to get used to this as much as I try. He’s been gone a lot lately, and this weekend is especially difficult because everywhere I go I see couples setting up Christmas trees, going on walks together and doing “couples things.”  #3) I’m lonely.  Incredibly lonely.  One of my biggest complaints about living in South Florida is that I don’t have a solid group of girl friends here. Perhaps if I did, Bryan being gone so often wouldn’t be so difficult.  Not to toot my own horn but I’ve never had a hard time making friends until I moved here.  Back home, I had an incredible group of girlfriends, and while I was in zoo school, I met some of my best friends.  And yes, I have friends here – mostly current and former co-workers, but we don’t normally get together outside of work.  This could be my fault, I don’t know.  Maybe I’m not making a big enough effort?  #4) Work was incredibly stressful this week for reasons I don’t want to get into. #5) Finally, every year I find it more and more difficult to be so far from my family during the holidays.

For a long time, I tried to cover up my blah days with fake happiness because for some reason, I felt like feeling blah was a bad thing.  Which, let’s be real, it’s not a great thing, but it does happen.  It happens to all of us. And that’s okay.  So instead of pretending to be 100% happy today, I’m accepting my blahness and doing things that make me happy.  Like writing, AND sharing recipes and photographs with y’all, AND spending some time in the sunshine with the pups…

img_4416

AND singing and dancing – yes I often do this alone in my house, usually while I’m cooking and drinking wine.  Don’t judge me…

Now it’s time to squash the blah by sharing with you my new favorite bruschetta recipe

fullsizeoutput_14e0

Last weekend Bryan’s parents were visiting from Pennsylvania and his mother requested lobster for dinner.  I have never prepared lobster so I knew this would be a challenge, but I also knew that I would be excellent at making the side dishes to go with the lobster – you may not know this, but side dishes are my jam.

The key to good bruschetta is to keep adjusting it to taste. Once the mixture is all prepared, taste it and add more sea salt, pepper, vinegar, etc as needed. The recipe is not exact just like most of my cooking!  Also, you need fresh garlic and basil.  Very important!

Easy & Delicious Bruschetta.
Yield: Serves 4
Adjusted from: allrecipes.com

Ingredients:

  • 4 roma tomatoes, diced
  • ~2T fresh basil, chopped
  • 2T shredded parmesan cheese
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 1 teaspoon balsamic vinegar
  • 1/2 -1 teaspoon olive oil
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1 loaf sourdough baguette (or French bread)

Directions:  In a medium bowl, toss together the tomatoes, basil, Parmesan cheese, and garlic. Mix in the balsamic vinegar, olive oil, salt and pepper. Serve on toasted bread slices.

fullsizeoutput_14e1

Everyone raved about this bruschetta! I think it was gone in about five minutes flat.

Mmmmmmm so good. 

Oh, and the lobster turned out great too!  I’d say it was a very successful meal.

Look at that, I’m feeling better already. 🙂 Have a wonderful Sunday everyone.

Leave a Reply

