Animals · Desserts · Recipes · Vegetarian

Peanut Butter-Chocolate No-Bake Cookies.

It’s that time of year again…holiday parties, drinks, and FOOD. Lots of food. Mostly of the sweet variety – at least in our house. 🙂 I deem the month of December as the Official Month of Cookie Eating.  Who wants to join me?

I’m almost positive I have some takers out there.

Last night we attended a potluck Christmas party and I didn’t have the time or the energy to go to the store, so I decided to whip up one of my all-time favorite cookies: Peanut Butter-Chocolate No-Bake Cookies.  What could be better than an indulgent dessert made from ingredients you have sitting in your pantry? AND that never needs to go into the oven? AND that take just five minutes to prepare?

Triple whammy.

You’ll discover that most of the time is spent waiting for them to harden (teehee) into the rich, nutty, chocolaty delights that they are. 🙂

It’s worth the wait. I promise.

fullsizeoutput_1559

I may never turn the oven on again.

Peanut Butter-Chocolate No-Bake Cookies
Yield: ~30 cookies (depending on how big you choose to make them!)

Ingredients:
2 cups sugar
1/2 cup milk (non-dairy if you wish)
8 T butter (unsalted is best)
1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
3 cups old-fashioned rolled oats
1 cup peanut butter (I prefer chunky, but smooth works too)
1 T pure vanilla extract
Large pinch sea salt

Directions:
-Line a baking sheet with aluminum foil or parchment.
-Bring the sugar, milk, butter and cocoa to a boil in a medium saucepan over medium heat, stirring occasionally, then let boil for 1-2 minutes. Remove from the heat. Add oats, peanut butter, vanilla and salt, and stir to combine.
-Drop spoonfuls of the mixture onto the prepared baking sheet, and let sit at room temperature until cooled and hardened, about 30 minutes. Refrigerate in an airtight container for up to 3 days.

fullsizeoutput_155b

fullsizeoutput_155a

Oh, and don’t let your curious pups get to them first! 🙂

The first time I made these (without peanut butter), Bryan wasn’t a fan, but adding the peanut butter quickly changed his mind.  I’m not sure if I should deem this a good or bad thing…

Happy boyfriend vs. less cookies for mwah

Hmmmmmmm.

fullsizeoutput_155c

Everyone at the party loved them too – I heard several guests asking the host who made them.  About an hour into the party, the plate was empty (don’t worry, I saved some cookies for me).

And Bryan!

Hope everyone is having a nice weekend.  Can you believe there are only 14 days to go until Christmas?

img_4443

 

We are all ready at our house!

I prefer real Christmas trees but we aren’t going to be home this year, so we put up an itty, bitty Charlie Brown tree.  It does the trick. 🙂

fullsizeoutput_155d

Last week I came home from work to this incredible surprise! Bryan knows how difficult it is for me to be away from home on the holidays, so he brought a little piece of home to me. IdaHOME.   I smile every time I drive up to it at night. 🙂

On that note, have a great Sunday everyone! 

Leave a Reply

