Appetizers · Recipes

Easy Homemade Croutons

You probably don’t know this about me but I LOVE caesar salad. I mean LOVE it. I could eat it all day, ‘er day.  And if I’m being honest, I do eat it almost every day.  I love it so much that last night at our work christmas party, I ordered a salad as my entree and a caesar salad for my starter – never too many veggies for this girl.

That’s true love. 

Until just recently I was buying the storebought caesar salad kits. Ya know, the ones with the dressing, parmesan, croutons and romaine all bundled up in one package? Then I got sick of spending $4.00 on a salad that was barely enough to feed me, let alone me and Bryan. So I swapped the kit out and started buying the ingredients separately.  This saved me some mullah.  Last week, I got really crazy and decided to make my own croutons – something I’ve always wanted to do, but never got around to it (for some unknown reason).  So it was meant to be that I was craving a caesar salad and had zero croutons left…

Luckily, I had plenty of bread.

fullsizeoutput_155e

Easy Homemade Croutons
Yield: ~6 servings
Adapted from: allrecipes.com

Ingredients:

  • 7 slices of (slightly) stale bread – I used whole grain, but french bread would be excellent too!
  • 1/4 cup melted butter
  • ~1 teaspoon garlic salt (optional)
  • pinch sea salt
  • 1.5T parsley flakes (more if desired)

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.
  2. Remove crusts from bread slices first if desired (I chose not to). Combine melted butter, sea salt and parsley flakes in a small bowl. Brush bread on both sides with melted butter mixture. Cut bread slices up into small cubes. Sprinkle with garlic salt (if desired). Arrange cubes on an ungreased cookie sheet.
  3. Bake at 350 degrees F (175 degrees C) for 15 minutes or until browned. Let cool. Store croutons in a covered container or plastic bag. Serve in soups or caesar salads!

fullsizeoutput_155f

When I sampled these croutons, my first thought was, “WOW. Now that is a crouton worth eating. It tasted like a soft biscuit of crunchiness instead of a hard rock.”

It’s staggering how much better homemade croutons are than storebought. Storebought croutons are hard and dry, and they don’t have the fresh taste that a homemade crouton has.

Remind me why it took me so long to discover this??? Well, if you haven’t made your own croutons yet, I am asking…no I’m begging you to give it a try.  Just five simple ingredients and so easy to make!  You will NOT be disappointed.

I promise.

I’ve seen several other recipes online and I plan on trying them all. 🙂 Don’t worry, I promise to share.

So many promises today. 🙂

_____

In other news…

Are y’all ready for the holidays?  Hard to believe how quickly they are sneaking up on us!  Since moving to South Florida, it’s been difficult for me to get into the “holiday spirit”- it’s nearly impossible when it’s still 80 degrees outside – but I’m really trying this year.

 

img_4569img_4580

Bryan and I have attended a few holiday parties, and we (okay I) have been dressing up the pups…

Never. Gets. Old.

Happy Holidays y’all.

Leave a Reply

