Comfort Food · Recipes · Vegetarian

Slow Cooker Quinoa Chili

Another year has come and gone.  Hard to believe isn’t it?

A lot of people start the year by making resolutions and wiping their slate clean. Starting fresh, if you will.

New year. New you. 

While I admit I haven’t been big on resolutions in the past, this year I’ve decided some changes are in order – last year was wonderful, but I’m realizing that I stopped doing a lot of things that I truly love.  Like yoga, and reading, and setting time aside for me…

Just me.

And cooking.  And blogging…

Sure I didn’t totally give these things up, but I definitely don’t do them enough, or as much as I used to, or would like to…

My work schedule changed and I started working later, plus Bryan traveled a lot in 2016, so I shifted my life accordingly.

So in 2017 I am vowing to start doing the things I love again.

What are some of your resolutions? I would love to hear them!

And if you don’t believe in resolutions, I would love to hear why.

______

With that said, I am making a promise to you to share more recipes this year starting with this one – one of my favorites.

Bryan introduced me to this recipe when he made it a few years ago (we had just started dating and he was trying to impress me).  I knew he was a keeper when he made me my own special vegetarian batch. 🙂

Although we live in Florida, I still crave soups and chilis during the winter months. It’s a must!

This slow cooker quinoa chili makes a delicious and easy dinner and if you want to prepare enough to feed a lot of people, the ingredients can easily be doubled or even tripled depending on the size of your slow cooker.

Preparation is simple. You basically pour all the ingredients into the slow cooker and voila. You’re done. Set your slow cooker for 6-8 hours and there you go. Delicious, flavorful chili that everyone in your household is sure to love.

fullsizeoutput_1560

Slow Cooker Quinoa Chili 
Yield: Serves 6-8

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup of quinoa, rinsed
  • One 14 oz can diced tomatoes with green chilies
  • 1 small sweet onion, diced
  • 1 can tomato paste
  • One 16 oz cans of black beans, drained
  • One 15 oz can of corn, drained
  • 1 yellow pepper, seeded and diced (red would work too)
  • 3 Cups vegetable stock
  • 2 tsp cumin
  • 2 tsp chili powder
  • 1 tsp garlic powder + 1 T fresh garlic, minced (optional..I love garlic)
  • 1/4 cup fresh cilantro
  • Salt & pepper to taste
  • 1 tsp dried parsley
  • Optional toppings: avocado, sour-cream, tortilla chips, green onions, shredded cheese.

Instructions

  1. Place all the ingredients in the slow cooker. Give it a good stir. Cook for 6-8 hours on low or 4-5 on high- you’ll know it’s done when it’s thick and most of the broth is absorbed.
  2. Top with your favorite toppings and enjoy!

fullsizeoutput_1562

fullsizeoutput_1561

Nom. Nom. Nom.

This is a recipe that will freeze well and can be prepared in bulk! B & F I call it = Bulk & Freeze!  It’s also packed with protein and fiber so you really don’t need to serve it with much else if you don’t have time. Sometimes just a crusty roll or crackers will suffice! It’s a dish that will leave you feeling satisfied for hours and hours.

If you are caught in winter’s wrath yet again this week, please accept our south Florida condolences.  I hope this dish brings you some comfort this winter. Stay warm!

And if that doesn’t work, come visit! 🙂  We have a spare room waiting…

Happy 2017 y’all. 

One thought on “Slow Cooker Quinoa Chili

  1. Looks delicious! I’ll be making a batch today! ❤
    My New Years resolutions are to pay off my credit card, start a successful business and spend more time with the people that matter most to me!
    Happy New Year!

    Like

Leave a Reply

