Comfort Food · Popular · Recipes · Vegetarian

Baked Macaroni & Cheese.

fullsizeoutput_15ea

I’ve been seeing a nutritionist for the last few weeks. Not because I need help with eating healthy, but because she’s trying to help me get my headaches under control – many of you may not know this about me but I have been suffering from headaches for quite some time now and have seen just about everybody under the sun in an attempt to get rid of them.

So far, the only two things that help me are massage therapy and regular visits to a NUCCA chiropractor – about once a month.  The combination of the two helps to manage them, but has yet to get rid of them.

Anyways

I discovered my nutritionist when I originally went to her for acupuncture. After an hour discussion she was convinced that I would get relief by being put on her nutrition program – she recommended I try it over acupuncture for now.   I told her at this point, I’m willing to try anything.

She did some muscle testing on me and discovered that I have heavy metal toxicity (trust me, my face looked as confused as I’m sure yours does right now).

But again, I was willing to try anything…

She put me on some all natural supplements then had me start keeping a food journal – something I have tried in the past and failed miserably at.

When I went back for my second visit, she took a look at my journal and said overall I have a very healthy diet, but she would like me to cut back on carbohydrates, mostly bread and pasta.

So what did I do? 

I went home and made macaroni and cheese. 🙂

Hey, nobody’s perfect.

Baked Macaroni & Cheese
Yield: serves 8-10

Ingredients:

  • 1 (16oz) package elbow macaroni shells
  • 6T butter
  • 1 cup frozen (or fresh) broccoli*
  • 6T all purpose flour
  • cups milk (not skim)
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 2 cups of shredded cheese – sharp cheddar and Swiss is best (I didn’t have either & used a four cheese blend.  It wasn’t as good)
  • 1/4 cup bread crumbs (optional)

Instructions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Bring a pot of water to a boil; add a generous sprinkling of salt.
  3. While the pasta cooks, melt the butter in a large skillet – large enough to hold the pasta after it’s finished cooking.
  4. Add the flour and stir over medium heat until the mixture is lightly browned; 1-2 minutes.
  5. Add the milk and optional broccoli and whisk to remove any lumps and add the salt and pepper.
  6. Cook over medium-high heat until the sauce thickens and starts to bubble.
  7. Stir in the cheese and whisk until smooth and melted. Turn off the heat.
  8. When the pasta is almost done but still firm, drain it and add to sauce.
  9. Stir the pasta into the sauce and bake in a greased 13X9 pan for 40-45 minutes until browned and bubbly.
  10. Top with optional bread crumbs.

*I added broccoli because adding vegetables makes me feel a little less guilty when I make macaroni and cheese.

fullsizeoutput_15eb

I served it alongside baked asparagus – again, I feel less guilty when I pair it with more veggies.

fullsizeoutput_15ec

Happy Sunday everyone! Hope y’all had a good weekend.  We did. Bryan and I went on a mini vacation to Key Largo.  It was pretty windy, but we still had a good time.

fullsizeoutput_15f1img_5027

And I got to see the sunset. 🙂

Oh and good news: I finally cut back on bread and pasta.

AND even better news: I am feeling better! Headaches have subsided. 🙂  Let’s hope it continues.

Leave a Reply

