Comfort Food · Dairy Free · Vegetarian

Baked Lentils with Sweet Potato & Pepper

fullsizeoutput_15ee

Today is all about simplicity.  If you’re anything like me, I truly believe there is something really nice about keeping things simple.  You’ve heard the phrase, “the little things in life.”  To me, those little things are usually the simple things.

Like simple recipes.

Sometimes I get wrapped up in making recipes with 20 different ingredients with the thought that it’s going to make it taste better.  I’m sure you would agree when I say, this isn’t always the case.  Some of my favorite dishes have very few ingredients.

Today’s recipe is one of those dishes.  I posted it last week on my Facebook page and immediately had some of you asking for the recipe.  It honestly made me laugh a little when I thought about sharing it with you because I could picture the faces of shock when y’all saw how simple it was!

Baked Lentils with Sweet Potato & Pepper
Yield: Serves 1

Ingredients:

  • 1 medium sweet potato
  • 1/2 can lentils
  • 1/2 yellow (or other color of choice) bell pepper, diced
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 1 tsp mustard – I prefer dijon
  • Dried parsley (optional) – I put parsley on almost everything, I learned that from my mom. 🙂

Instructions:

Heat oven to 400F.  Pearce several holes in sweet potato and place direction on top oven rake (I usually put a piece of aluminum foil on bottom oven rack to catch any juice that spills out).  Cook for about 30 minutes, or until tender.

When sweet potato is almost done cooking, add remaining ingredients (minus the parsley) to a small skillet.  Cook on medium heat for about 5 minutes.

Once sweet potato is finished, slice it in half and top with lentil mixture.

fullsizeoutput_15ed

Wholesome. Comforting. Delicious. I loved it so much that I made another one and packed it for lunch the next day!

fullsizeoutput_15f6

But this time I added cheese. 🙂

Pretty simple right?

There are obviously several ways to tweak this recipe- like adding onions, using dried lentils, topping it with avocado and sour cream etc.  I just used whatever I had available at the time and it worked out perfect.

Just don’t forget to keep it simple because sometimes simple is simply better. 😉

Hope everyone is having a good week so far.

Leave a Reply

