Animals · Photos

Photos from the last few months.

Hello and happy Sunday y’all! Hope everyone had a nice, relaxing weekend – it’s been rainy and cold here (cold for south Florida anyway…) so while Bryan spent most of the day doing some things around the house and watching a movie, I spent my day running errands and cooking. 🙂 Oh and my next project after this post?  I plan on making my own deodorant…

I’ll let you know how that turns out…

Or perhaps Bryan would be a better judge. 🙂

Anywhoooo

I’m continuing with the simple theme this week and rather than sharing a complicated recipe today, I simply wanted to share with y’all some of my favorite photos from the last few months.  It’s a sneak peak into what I’ve been up to during my time off.

Enjoy!

img_4788img_4909

Bryan doesn’t realize that one of my favorite things to do is sneak pictures of him as he’s admiring nature.

Sneaky snake…

These were both taken during hikes that we took a few weeks ago.  Whenever we go places like this it reminds me that even in south Florida we can find silence.

Watershot CameraWatershot Camera

A few weeks ago, we went diving at Blue Heron Bridge on a seahorse mission…

Not only did we find one (we found two actually!), we found a very pregnant male seahorse that looked like he was about to pop!  Yes, you heard me right, I said MALE.  Male seahorses are equipped with a brood pouch on their ventral, or front-facing, side. When mating, the female deposits her eggs into his pouch, and then the male fertilizes them internally. He carries the eggs in his pouch until they hatch, then releases them (fully formed) into the water. Incredible right?  I’m sure there are some females out there wishing the human species would learn a thing or two from these seahorses…:)

img_4955

Last weekend I finally got out on my paddle board, and even though the weather wasn’t great (yes I see heads shaking from those of you battling actual winter storms), we still had a blast.  Can you tell that this is my happy place? 😉

fullsizeoutput_15f3

fullsizeoutput_15f1img_5027

Last week we made a trip down to Key Largo for the night to watch the sunset and to visit with some friends Bryan used to work with in Kentucky.  It was a quick trip but we still had a good time – it’s always nice to get away, even if it’s just for the night.

img_5069

On Thursday we met some old co-workers of mine at one of my favorite (okay, the only one I’ve been to) breweries in south Florida.  We had some great conversation, laughs and good brew.  It was so nice catching up with all of them.

img_5084

I took Lily to work with me yesterday to get her nails cut (she doesn’t let me do them).  This was her before she found out where we were going. My little copilot.

fullsizeoutput_15fefullsizeoutput_1600fullsizeoutput_1601fullsizeoutput_1602

Yesterday I went on a birding trip with Bryan and my friend Melissa. We saw a nest with two bald eagles and their eaglets (amazing), a few very friends sandhill cranes (pictured above), tons of alligators (also pictured above), two very vocal barred owls and several other birds.  It was a great afternoon.

We followed it with a night dive at the Blue Heron Bridge where we saw two octopi, a huge stingray, a remora and the tiniest little seahorse I’ve ever seen!   I almost didn’t go because it was 50 degrees outside and the thought of getting out of the water and dealing with that crap didn’t appeal to me, but Bryan convinced me and I”m sure glad he did. 🙂

That’s it for now but don’t you worry, I have a few very exciting recipes to share with y’all soon!

Stay tuned…

fullsizeoutput_15fa

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

