Popular · Recipes · Vegetarian

Spinach & Feta Quinoa Cakes with Lemon Dill Sauce

Can you believe that it’s already February?

I can’t. 

Can you believe the groundhog saw his shadow again…?

I can.  He almost ALWAYS sees his shadow.  In fact, I was so curious how often he actually sees it that I looked it up.  If you’re curious too, here you go.  You’re welcome.

For those of you dreading your six more weeks of winter, my sincere apologies.  I won’t rub in the fact that it’s been sunny and 80 where I live…

Watershot Camera

img_5275

Ohhhh, and yesterday I swam with manatees.

Whoops.. there I go bragging again. 🙂

Okay, okay, let me make it up to you by sharing one of my new favorite recipes.  That’s fair right?

I was inspired to make this recipe last week because I’m trying to incorporate more quinoa back into my diet.  I used to eat quinoa almost every day and for some reason lately, I’ve been avoiding it.  Perhaps avoiding isn’t the best word, more like I’ve sort of forgotten about it.

If you haven’t already jumped on the quinoa bandwagon, you are really slow, but it’s never too late!

Toot. Toot.

fullsizeoutput_15f9

Spinach & Feta Quinoa Cakes with Lemon Dill Sauce
Yield: ~10 medium cakes

Adjusted lightly from domesticsuperhero

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup plain Greek yogurt
  • 2 tablespoons finely chopped scallions
  • 2 teaspoons freshly squeezed lime juice (lemon would be good too)
  • 1 tablespoon + 2 teaspoons chopped fresh dill (divided)
  • Salt and pepper, to taste
  • 1 tablespoon extra-virgin olive oil
  • 1/2 cup finely chopped onion
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 5 ounces chopped baby spinach
  • 2 large eggs, beaten
  • 1 1/4 cups cooked quinoa
  • 2 ounces crumbled feta cheese
  • 1/4 teaspoon cumin
  • 1/2 cup bread crumbs
Directions for Sauce – MAKE FIRST!
  1. Whisk together the yogurt, scallions, cumin, lime juice, and 2 tsp dill in a small bowl. Season to taste with salt and pepper. Cover and refrigerate the sauce for about 30 minutes to an hour to allow the flavors to combine.
Directions for Quinoa Cakes
  1. Heat the olive oil in a large skillet over medium heat. Add the onion and garlic and cook, stirring often, until softened, about 4 minutes. Add the spinach and cook, stirring often, about 3 minutes. Transfer mixture to a medium-size bowl.
  2. Add the eggs, quinoa, feta, 1 TBS dill, and 1/4 tsp black pepper. Mix well. Stir in the bread crumbs and let mixture sit for a few minutes- allowing the bread crumbs to absorb some of the moisture.
  3. Wipe out large skillet and add 1 TBS oil. Heat for a minute.
  4. Form quinoa patties about 2 1/2 inches in diameter and 1/2 inch thick. Place the patties in skillet – I had to do this in batches. Cook the patties until they’re browned on the outside, about 4 to 5 minutes per side, and then flip.
  5. Serve warm with lemon-dill yogurt sauce (see below).
fullsizeoutput_15fa
I know quinoa has been a fad for quite some time now, but I think this fad is here to stay.  It’s super healthy.  Plus it’s very versatile and can be used in so many dishes.  So hurry up! What are you waiting for?  Jump on this quinoa bandwagon!
ALL ABOARD! 
Perhaps it will take you some place warm…
Just sayin’. 😉
Happy Friday y’all!
2 thoughts on “Spinach & Feta Quinoa Cakes with Lemon Dill Sauce

Leave a Reply

