Animals · Recipes · Vegetarian

Photos & Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

Hello and happy Sunday y’all!

Hope everyone is having a nice weekend so far.  Any plans for the Big Game?  Ya know, the game also known as the Super Bowl.  Bryan is going over to a friend’s house and I’m feeling a little under the weather so I’m going to stay put and cuddle up with the pups.

Oh, and I’m making myself Fried Spinach & Artichoke Dip Balls.  I’ll let you know how those turn out. 🙂

In the meantime…

Do you remember when I posted about keeping things simple?  Well, I love this theme so much that I’ve decided to make all of my Sunday posts simple.  I’ve deemed it Simple Sundays.   Whether I decide to post just photos, or a simple recipe, I promise to keep Sundays simple.

Thoughts?

Don’t forget to keep them simple… 🙂

Sooooo to continue with my Sunday simple theme I want to share some photos from Thursday when Bryan and I were lucky enough to snorkel with manatees!

Watershot Camera

It was the perfect day out – high 70s, no wind, sunshine, and crystal clear water.

Watershot Camera

I’ve lived in south Florida for almost three years now and I’ve never seen the water so clear. It was magical.

Watershot Camera

And magical makes me happy. 🙂

Bryan knew how much I wanted to see manatees so he was on a mission to find some…and let’s just say, his mission was more than successful.   About five minutes into our paddle, he spotted six manatees and pointed them out to me.

Watershot Camera

Here he is surrounded by them. 🙂

Watershot Camera

Admiring them from above was great, but I knew I had to get in the water with them.

Watershot Camera

And I’m SO glad I did.

Watershot Camera

Watershot Camera

They weren’t bothered by me at all.  It was one of the most amazing experiences of my life.  I still can’t believe it happened. They are such incredible creatures.

Watershot Camera

 

Watershot Camera

Watershot Camera

Sadly, as you can see in this photo, slow-moving manatees often cannot avoid the boats that frequent the Florida waterways they call home. As a result, propellers inflict serious or mortal wounds, and most manatees have a pattern of scars on their backs or tails after surviving collisions with boats. 😦  Luckily this one didn’t seem too affected by it.  She even had a little calf with her. 🙂

Okay, Okay, enough with my AMAZING experience, now I want to share with y’all one of the simplest ways to prepare butternut squash.  So simple in fact, that I expect you’ll start preparing it this way just because of its simplicity – four simple ingredients and a piece of cake to make. 🙂

You can thank me later. 🙂

fullsizeoutput_1603

 

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

Ingredients:

  • Butternut squash – peeled, seeded, and cut into 1-inch cubes
  • 2T extra virgin olive oil
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • salt & pepper, to taste

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 400F.
  2. Toss butternut squash with olive oil and garlic in a large bowl. Season with salt and black pepper, to taste. Arrange coated squash on a baking sheet.
  3. Roast in the preheated oven until squash is tender and slight brown, 30 minutes.

fullsizeoutput_1604

Viola! That’s it!

Now I’m off to watch Lady Gaga!  Are y’all as excited as I am???

Oh, and P.S….the Spinach Balls are amazing!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

