Appetizers · Recipes · Vegetarian

Fried Spinach & Artichoke Balls

Hopefully all of you Falcon fans…

Errrrr ummmm let me rephrase that…

Hopefully all of you Patriot haters have had enough time to sulk and get over your loss last Sunday.

I’ll be honest, I’ve never been a huge Super Bowl fan. My favorite part of the Super Bowl (aside from the commercials and halftime show), has always been the food.  More specifically, the finger food.

A well known secret about me is that I’m a dip gal.  I love anything that gets served with some kind of dip.  And even if it’s not normal to dip it, I’ll find something to dip it in – usually ketchup or ranch.

This past Super Bowl Sunday I wasn’t feeling 100% – I had a sore throat and I was extremely tired – so while Bryan went over to a friend’s house to watch the big game, I opted to stay in and cuddle with the pups.  But just because I was alone, didn’t mean I wasn’t craving Super Bowl food.

As a person who loves cooking, I try to get creative with recipes that have been around for a long time, so today’s recipe is one of the most tried-and-true dips – in ball form! Your face (and belly) shall dance!

Mine did.

These fried spinach and artichoke dip balls put an incredible twist on one of my all-time favorites. They’re so yummy that you can eat them on their own…

Ha. Who am I kidding?!

Dip baby, DIP!

fullsizeoutput_1657

Fried Spinach & Artichoke Balls
Yield: Serves ~4

Ingredients:

  • 1 jar artichoke hearts, drained
  • 1 cup shredded mozzarella cheese
  • 1 (9oz) package frozen spinach, thawed and drained
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1⁄2 cup shredded Parmesan cheese
  • 3 T mayonnaise
  • 1⁄2 cup flour
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 eggs, beaten
  • 1 cup bread crumbs
  • 1 lemon cut into wedges (optional)
  • 4 cups vegetable oil (I know…it’s uhhh-lot)
  • Salt and pepper, to taste

Instructions:

  1. In large mixing bowl, combine artichoke hearts, mozzarella cheese, spinach, garlic, Parmesan cheese, and mayonnaise.
  2. Place mixture in freezer for at least 10 minutes.
  3. Roll spinach and artichoke dip into small balls.
  4. Dip each ball in flour, egg, and bread crumbs.
  5. Fry in vegetable oil until brown.
  6. Serve with lemon and enjoy!

fullsizeoutput_1656

I ended up dipping mine in ranch (obviously), but they tasted delicious on their own!

____

Hope everyone is having a good week so far! I’ll be honest, I haven’t had the best week.  I just feel a bit off.  Whenever I feel this way, I’m reminded of one of my favorite quotes:

fullsizeoutput_164d

This reminds me that it’s okay to feel off track.  We ALL feel that way sometimes.  It’s how we learn and grow.

So cheers y’all! Tomorrow is Friday.

XO

 

 

Leave a Reply

