Dairy Free · Recipes

Simple Sautéed Kale

Confession: I’ve always had a weird relationship with kale.  In fact, I used to hate eating kale.  As I’ve gotten older, kale and I have developed a love-hate relationship. One month I can’t get enough of it, then the next month I can’t stand to even look at it.  Oh…and then the following month I force myself to eat it because I know it’s good for me.

fullsizeoutput_1663

I know what you’re thinking…What the kale, right?

This month has been: I’m trying to eat more of it because I know it’s good for me month.  I’ve been mixing it into green smoothies, adding it to fresh salads, and most recently I’ve been sautéing it, which, as it turns out, is my new favorite way to eat it.

Simple. Delicious and healthy.

fullsizeoutput_1664

Simple Sautéed Kale
Yield: Serves 2

Ingredients:

  • ~1 lb  kale, stems and leaves coarsely chopped
  • 2 T extra virgin olive oil
  • crushed red pepper flakes, to taste (optional)
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 1⁄4 cup vegetable broth or water
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1 T balsamic vinegar

Instructions: 

  1. Heat olive oil in a large saucepan over medium-high heat.
  2. Add crushed red pepper flakes, if using, and let them sizzle for a minute in the oil.
  3. Add the garlic and cook until soft, but don’t burn.
  4. Raise heat to high, add the broth (or water) and kale. Toss to combine.
  5. Cover and cook for 5 minutes.
  6. Remove cover and continue to cook, stirring until all (most) the liquid has evaporated. I like the kale to still remain bright-ish green.
  7. Season with salt and pepper and add vinegar.

fullsizeoutput_1665

This works great as a side dish, but I could eat it as my main meal, maybe by adding some chickpeas or black beans in at the end, amazing! I served it alongside a vegetable ciabatta sandwich.  Bryan hates kale, so he got broccoli instead. 🙂

I won’t go into details about how healthy kale is because I’m sure you’ve all heard by now, but in case you’ve somehow missed the kale bandwagon, here are some of the health benefits of the superfood.

Hope everyone is having a good week so far! And guess what?  Tomorrow is Friday! 🙂

Leave a Reply

