Appetizers · Dairy Free · Quick Meals · Vegan · Vegetarian

Black Bean & Corn Salad

Y’all know by now how much I love me some Mexican food.  I can honestly say that we eat it more than any other cuisine in our house, and Bryan hasn’t complained (yet) so I keep on preparing it!

Today I have a delicious, healthy, and super quick black bean and corn salad that makes a great lunch (dinner too!) either as the main course or as a side dish. If you are looking for a way to change up the everyday fare, this is it!  It’s a spin off of my Cilantro, Black Bean & Corn Salsa.  Only, I like this one even better!

fullsizeoutput_1666

Black Bean & Corn Salad
Yield: ~4 servings

Ingredients:

  • 1 can (14oz) black beans, rinsed and drained
  • 1 can (14oz) corn kernels (frozen works too)
  • 1 small red bell pepper, seeded and chopped into small pieces
  • 1/2 cup cherry tomatoes, sliced in half or quartered
  • 1/2 red onion, chopped (I almost forgot this important ingredient! That’s why it’s not pictured, fortunately I did remember to add it later) 
  • 1/4 cup fresh cilantro, chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons ground cumin
  • 2 teaspoons hot sauce
  • 1 fresh lime, juiced
  • 2T vegetable or olive oil 
  • Salt and pepper to taste

Instructions:

Combine all ingredients in a bowl.

fullsizeoutput_1667

Look at those colors! Don’t you just love it? 

Let stand at least 15 minutes for flavors to combine, then toss and serve. Adjusting seasonings to taste.

fullsizeoutput_1668

I love using it as a chip dip…

fullsizeoutput_1669

Or as a salad topper…

fullsizeoutput_166a

I can usually make this in about 5 minutes flat.  It also makes enough for a few servings so the leftovers can be enjoyed throughout the week.  I just stow it away in glass tupperware.

fullsizeoutput_166b

(See! The onions are there I promise!)

Hope everyone is having a nice weekend so far.  I’m about to go get ready for a wedding! It’s been awhile since I’ve been to one so I’m looking forward to it.  I’m also excited to dress up! I rarely have a reason to, so a wedding is a good excuse!

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

