Breakfast Foods · Comfort Food · Dairy Free · Quick Meals

Oatmeal Power Bowl

It was a cloudy morning when I woke up this past Tuesday and the first thing I wanted (after coffee) was a cozy bowl of oatmeal – my mom used to make it for my dad on cold, winter mornings back home so there’s always been something comforting about oatmeal that reminds me of home.

As it turns out, I’ve been missing home lately, so I’ve been craving a lot of oatmeal to help kick my homesickness blues.  It’s a good thing I love oatmeal and, I don’t know about you, but if I find something I love, I have to have it every. single. day.  Until I get sick of it and move onto the next best thing – this seems to be a reoccurring theme in my life with a lot of things! ha.

Don’t worry Bryan, I plan on keeping you for awhile. 😉

Today I wanted to share with you one of my favorite ways (aside from overnight oats) to prepare oatmeal.  I often encourage people to eat more oatmeal because it’s so good for us and it gets us away from things like pop tarts, pancakes and bagels for breakfast, but what I have discovered is that a lot of people think oatmeal taste bland or boring.

Not this oatmeal.

fullsizeoutput_1684

This oatmeal is warm, flavorful and comforting.  I feel like I can take on the world (okay, maybe just the day) after eating it.  Oh and it takes 5 minutes to prepare!

Oatmeal Power Bowl
Yield: Serves 1

Ingredients:

1/2 cup organic oats
1 cup non-dairy milk (I used almond)
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
pinch of salt
1/2 banana cut into chunks
1 T peanut butter
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
Additional mix ins: I use 1 T chia seeds, fruit of choice (usually raspberries or blueberries), coconut flakes.
*I usually add nuts (almonds or pumpkin seeds) as well but didn’t have any on hand.

Instructions:

  1. Mix together the oats, non-dairy milk, salt, peanut butter, banana, vanilla & cinnamon into a small saucepan and cook on medium heat.
  2. Stir the mixture until it begins to bubble and the oats soften. This should take about 5 minutes and the mixture should look thick and creamy. Add more milk or water if you prefer a thinner oatmeal.
  3. Add in any mix-ins that you desire.

fullsizeoutput_1685

Comfort food at its finest…

Healthiest too!

Happy Friday y’all!  Time to conquer the world!

Or at least the weekend. 😉

Leave a Reply

