Appetizers · Dairy Free · Quick Meals · Recipes

Purple Cabbage & Chickpea Salad.

I’ve been on a purple cabbage kick lately.  I can’t seem to get enough of this delicious, colorful vegetable.  The biggest challenge with purple cabbage (or any cabbage for that matter), isn’t what the hell do I make with it?  It’s more, how the hell do I use it all of up before it wilts and goes bad sitting in my refrigerator.  I’m sure I’m not alone here.

To ensure I use it all up, I’ve been putting it on top of salads…

16998234_1352361904856347_6827994080806502599_n-copy

Inside fish tacos..

IMG_1771

And eating it raw by the handfuls…

I spared y’all a photo of that. 🙂 You’re welcome.

But again, I can never seem to finish the entire head of cabbage before I see it’s lonely, half-eaten, clunky self gazing at me every time I open the refrigerator door.

This week, I put another huge cabbage into my shopping cart with the intent of making a large cabbage salad – the perfect solution to my ongoing cabbage dilemma.  I’ve been making a lot of regular salads for Bryan and I so I thought this would be a good solution. Not only would it would I use up all of the cabbage, it would also be a new type of salad to eat.

I call that a win-wine…I mean, win. See what I did there? 😉

fullsizeoutput_1692

Purple Cabbage & Chickpea Salad 
Yield: 3-4 servings

Ingredients:

  • 1 head purple cabbage
  • 1/4 cup raw almonds, chopped
  • 1/2 white onion, sliced into strips
  • 1 (15oz) can chickpeas, drained & rinsed
  • 3 T extra virgin olive oil
  • 2 T soy sauce
  • 3 T balsamic vinegar
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • salt & pepper to taste
  • Parsley flakes to taste

Instructions:

Chop cabbage into desired sized pieces (I like long, thin slices) & add to mixing bowl.  Add remaining ingredients and stir until well combined.  Adjust seasonings & sauces to taste – I fiddled around with the balsamic vinegar until I got it just right.

fullsizeoutput_1693

Not only is this salad delicious, it’s also quite beautiful if you ask me! Did you know that purple foods contain anthocyanins, which are health-promoting chemicals that help protect cells and heal your body. Research suggests they play active roles in promoting eye and heart health, decreasing cancer cell proliferation and more. Anthocyanins are predominant in teas, honey, wines, fruits, vegetables, nuts, olive oil, cocoa and cereal (source).  One more reason to eat purple cabbage AND drink wine. 🙂

Oh, and where did I get that adorable wine glass you see pictured here? My best friend and her boyfriend started an Etsy site focusing on up-cycling old, unwanted items into new, unique products.  I’m so proud of her and I’m loving all of her stuff.  Do yourselves a favor (after you make this salad) and check out her stuff.

One last thing…

I want to wish a very Happy Birthday to my partner in crime.  I originally moved to Florida to go to zoo school, I didn’t realize that I would also find new life and love here.  Bryan loves nature more than most people I’ve ever met and he challenges me to be a better person.  He is also responsible for most of the adventures you see me posting pictures of.  I’d be lying if I said our relationship has been perfect, but it’s been the best relationship I’ve ever been in and I’m so thankful to have him in my life.  Happy Birthday Bryan! Love you.

fullsizeoutput_1410img_4359img_4788

Watershot Camera

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

