Breakfast Foods · Dairy Free · Recipes · Vegetarian

Simple Homemade Granola Bars

I am a big ingredients person.  And by that I mean nothing bothers me more than when I look at the ingredients on a package and I can’t pronounce what is in the food I’m about to eat.

ingredients

Something else I can’t stand?  When the ingredients list is longer than the line at Disney’s Splash Mountain – anybody who’s been to Disney knows exactly what I’m talking about.

Lately, Bryan and I have been snacking on a lot of granola bars.  If you’ve been following our adventures these last few months, you’ll see that we’ve been going on a lot of hikes, scuba diving, camping and paddle boarding – all of which require plenty of snackage. I hate to admit it, but I’ve been buying store-bought chewy granola bars for our outings. But this last week, I decided I needed to change that when I looked at the ingredients list on one of the boxes – namely the high fructose corn devil

I mean syrup…

Oy vey. 😦

Hey, I saw a problem and I fixed it.

These homemade granola bars are BOMB DIGGITY.  In fact, they are so much the bomb, they wouldn’t make it through airport security…

I joke. I joke.  

Please take them to the airport, I’m sure they would make the perfect pre and post flight snack. 🙂

fullsizeoutput_16b7

 

Simple Granola Bars

Yield: ~10 bars

Ingredients:

  • 1 heaping cup packed (220 g) pitted dates
  • 1/4 cup honey (or maple syrup)
  • 1/4 cup creamy natural peanut butter
  • 1 cup nuts of choice – I used a combo of mixed nuts and sunflower seeds, loosely chopped
  • 1 1/2 cups rolled oats
  • 1/4 cup chocolate chips (optional)
  • optional additions: dried fruit, coconut flakes etc.

Instructions:

  1. Process dates in a food processor until small bits remain (about 1 minute). It should form a “dough” like consistency.
  2. Toast your oats and nuts in oven on 350F for 10-15 minutes or until slightly golden brown.
  3. Place oats, almonds and dates in a large mixing bowl and set aside.
  4. Warm honey and peanut butter in a small saucepan over low heat. Stir and pour over oat mixture and mix well, making sure dates are dispensed well.
  5. Once thoroughly mixed, transfer to an 8×8-inch baking dish or other small pan lined with plastic wrap or aluminum foil.
  6. Press down firmly until flattened.
  7. Cover and let firm up in freezer for 15-20 minutes.
  8. Remove bars from pan and chop into 10 even bars. Store in an airtight container for up to a few days. Grab one when you’re ready for a snack!

fullsizeoutput_16b9

Just don’t let the dogs get one…

fullsizeoutput_16ba

Little sneaks. 🙂
I had one at work today in-between breakfast and lunch and it kept me full for hours! They really are the perfect bar for a hearty snack because they keep you full AND they don’t provide a sugar overload.
I even received a text from Bryan around noon that said “the bars are great.” 
Woohooo. Mandy tested and Bryan approved.
Happy Monday y’all!  Hope everyone has a nice week.

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Simple Homemade Granola Bars

Leave a Reply

