Animals · Breakfast Foods · Photos · Recipes · Smoothies · Vegan · Vegetarian

Protein Packed Cinnamon Smoothie.

I’ve been on a smoothie kick lately.  But, like most people, I don’t crave them for breakfast, I seem to almost always want them at lunchtime. Unfortunately, I’m usually at work during lunch, so I always make sure I get my smoothie fix on my days off.

Like today…

fullsizeoutput_16d1

My routine on Thursdays for the last month has been to wake up, lounge around and drink a cup of coffee, clean the house a bit, paddle board with the pups for a few hours, run a couple errands, then come home and make a smoothie for lunch- I don’t know about you, but after a few hours in the sun, I don’t usually want a heavy meal, so smoothies are the perfect solution to tackle my hunger, while keeping me hydrated and cooling me down.

So many reasons to love smoothies! Did I mention they are also healthy?

The smoothie love list goes on…and on…

I can’t get over how much I love this smoothie.  I think it’s safe to say it’s my new favorite (don’t you worry Green Smoothie, you know you’ll always be my #1).

Speaking of GREEN, can you believe it’s almost St. Patrick’s Day?  Where has this year gone?

Sorry…got distracted.  It happens…

A lot.

This smoothie is thick, creamy, packed with protein and healthy fats, and did I mention it’s delicious?!

My only problem with it is that I couldn’t decide what to call it…so if you come up with something better than Protein Packed Cinnamon Smoothie, please let me know!

In the meantime…

fullsizeoutput_16d3

Protein Packed Cinnamon Smoothie
Yield: Serves 1

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup almond milk (or milk of choice) 
  • 1/2 avocado
  • 1 large frozen banana, broken into chunks
  • 1 T chia seeds
  • 1 T nut butter (I used peanut butter)
  • 2 pitted dates
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon, or to taste
  • 1/2 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  • 2-3 ice cubes, or as desired (I love my smoothies thick)

optional toppings: chopped nuts, whipped cream, coconut flakes…options are endless.

Instructions:

Add desired milk into a high-speed blender, followed by the rest of the ingredients. Blend until smooth. If necessary, add more milk.

fullsizeoutput_16d4

I topped mine with coconut flakes – they made the perfect addition.

I gulped it down in minutes (no joke), while I sat down immediately to share the recipe with y’all.

fullsizeoutput_16d5

So. Damn. Good.

____

Oh, and I can’t leave without sharing these adorable photos of Lily from this morning…

Watershot CameraWatershot Camera

She found a GIANT starfish and wasn’t quite sure what to think of it – it was adorable to watch her try to comprehend what she was face-to-face with. 🙂

Aren’t dogs the best?

Have a happy evening everyone.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

