Recipes · Vegetarian

Spaghetti Squash Burrito Bowl.

How did Monday sneak up on us so fast?  Oh yeah… we lost an hour of our weekend.

Still bitter. 

My goal this week is to come up with simple, healthy and new recipes because sometimes I feel like I get stuck in ruts where I make the same thing(s) over and over again – fish tacos anyone?

Aside from my weekly fish tacos, I also find myself making pizza, salad, rice and beans and pasta week after week…after week.

Bryan never complains – he would be happy with just about anything (besides kale), it’s me who gets sick of it, but sometimes these meals are the simplest to make! And when you don’t get home until 7:30 or 8:00 at night, simple is all you care about.

Today I want to share with y’all this epic burrito I found on one of my new favorite vegetarian blogs.  These bowls are simple, colorful (which to me usually means healthy) and delicious.

fullsizeoutput_16dc

Told you…look at those colors!

fullsizeoutput_16dd

fullsizeoutput_16de

Spaghetti Squash Burrito Bowls
Adjusted from Cookie & Kate
Yield: 2 servings as a side & 1 serving as main dish

INGREDIENTS:

Roasted spaghetti squash
  • 1 medium spaghetti squash, halved and seeds removed
  • 1 T extra olive oil
  • Salt and freshly ground black pepper
Cabbage and black bean slaw
  • 1.5 cups purple cabbage, thinly sliced and roughly chopped into 2-inch long pieces
  • 1 can (15 ounces) black beans, rinsed and drained
  • 1 orange bell pepper, chopped
  • ⅓ cup chopped green onions, both green and white parts
  • ⅓ cup chopped fresh cilantro
  • 2 to 3 tablespoons fresh lime juice, to taste
  • 1 T garlic, minced
  • 1 teaspoon cumin
  • 1 teaspoon olive oil
  • ¼ teaspoon salt

Optional (but not really optional) toppings: cheese, guacamole, sour cream, my favorite sauce. 

INSTRUCTIONS:

  1. To roast the spaghetti squash: Preheat the oven to 400F. Place the halved spaghetti squash on a large baking sheet lined with parchment paper (or silpat mat) and drizzle with olive oil. Rub the olive oil all over each of the halves, adding more if necessary. Sprinkle the insides of the squash with freshly ground black pepper and salt. Turn them over so the insides are facing down and roast for about 30 minutes, or until the flesh is easily pierced through with a fork.
  2. While squash is cooking, assemble the slaw: In a medium mixing bowl, combine the cabbage, black beans, pepper, green onion, cilantro, cumin, garlic, lime juice, olive oil and salt. Toss to combine and set aside to marinate.
  3. To assemble, first use a fork to separate and fluff up the flesh of the spaghetti squash. Then divide the slaw into each of the spaghetti squash “bowls.” Finish the bowls with another sprinkle of freshly ground black pepper, some extra chopped cilantro and desired toppings of choice!

IMG_5880fullsizeoutput_16df

I used this new guacamole salsa that I’ve been dying to try.  Boy oh boy was it spicy but delicious!  Bryan loved it and I did too, but next time (I definitely plan on making these again!) I plan on using guacamole and salsa instead.

Please let me know if you try this recipe! And what you think of course. 🙂

 

 

Leave a Reply

