Quick Meals · Recipes · Vegetarian

Healthy Hummus Sandwich

I told you I’ve been busy lately, so I’ll be honest, my meals have been slacking.  By slacking I mean that I haven’t spent much time preparing them, mostly because I haven’t had the time.

A lot of my meals have been grab-n-go meals like this…

fullsizeoutput_16f5

Perhaps not the healthiest breakfast, but it’s better than nothing and it’s easy to consume in the car – which is where most of my meal consumption has been taking place lately.

And for lunch?  This delicious sandwich has been my go-to.

fullsizeoutput_16f4

I’ve never been a big sandwich person, but when I become a vegetarian, my already nonexistent love of sandwiches dropped even more.  It seems like most vegetarian sandwiches are more bread than anything else.  Fear no more!  This healthy hummus sandwich gets one GIANT (and rather enthusiastic) stamp of approval from your resident sandwich skeptic.

Start with a whole wheat english muffin (whole grain bread works too of course), slather on a decent amount of hummus to both slices – I’m a huge fan of Sabra hummus in all varieties.  Top with thin slices of zucchini, shredded carrot, arugula, feta cheese and sunflower (or pumpkin) seeds.  Sprinkle with a dash of salt and pepper on top, put the two slices together and viola!

fullsizeoutput_16f2

Healthy Hummus Sandwich
Yield: serves 1

Ingredients:

  • 1 whole wheat english muffin (or bread of choice)
  • 1/4 cup hummus of choice
  • a few thin slices of zucchini
  • 1/4 cup shredded carrot
  • 2T feta cheese
  • small handful of arugula (spinach, or any other lettuce will work fine too)
  • 1T sunflower seeds
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • Instructions:

To assemble your sandwich, spread a hearty layer of hummus onto each slice of english muffin (toast the bread first if you wish!). Top one slice with a layer of zucchini, followed by arugula and carrot. Add feta cheese and salt and pepper to taste. Place the second slice of english muffin hummus-side down on top. Enjoy!

I loved it so much I made it again, only this time I shredded the zucchini instead of uses slices.

fullsizeoutput_16f6

I ended up preferring it this way but both methods are fine.

As always, please let me know how this recipe turns out for you if you try it. I really love reading and replying to your comments.

Hope everyone is having a good week so far. 

Leave a Reply

