Animals · Comfort Food · Photos · Vegetarian

Cabbage & Noodles

fullsizeoutput_1703

Last week, when I was at the grocery store I spotted this GIANT locally grown green cabbage on sale – 29 cents a pound.  What a bargain! 

Since I’d been on a purple cabbage kick, I took this as a sign that I needed to venture out of my comfortable purple box and explore the green universe.  Then the green giant sat in my fridge for 6 days…

7 days…

On day 8, I decided I needed to do something with this GIANT cabbage that was clunking around in my refrigerator.

I thought about making a big salad with it, but I wasn’t feeling like a cold salad that night.  Then I thought about fish tacos – I could make a cole slaw to add to the tacos, then also serve it as a side dish.

I’m getting sick of fish tacos,” Bryan mumbled as my heart began shattering into a million fish taco-less pieces.

I started running out of ideas so I did what anyone would do in this situation. I turned to Mr. Google. 

What a good guy he is – intelligent, always there when you need him, almost never talks back.  The perfect man if ya ask me.

I had an idea of what I wanted – something with cabbage and noodles so I logically typed in: cabbage and noodles (genius I know…).  Mr. Google led me to a few bizarre recipes, but something you may not know about me is that I’m willing to try almost everything at least once.

fullsizeoutput_1705

Cabbage & Noodles
Yield: serves 4-5
Adjusted from Cooks.com

INGREDIENTS:

  • 4-5 cups cabbage, chopped
  • 1 small white onion, chopped
  • 1/4 cup butter (I know…it’s a lot but man is it worth it)
  • 1 (8oz) pkg. egg noodles
  • 1/2 cup sour cream (again, worth it)
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • salt & pepper to taste
  • 1/2 teaspoon red pepper flakes (optional)

DIRECTIONS:

Melt 1/4 cup butter in a large skillet over medium heat. Add 1/2 cup onions and and garlic. Cook over medium-low, heat until onions and garlic are tender (not brown). Add cabbage. Cook over medium-low heat for about 5 minutes (until cabbage is just becoming tender). Add salt, pepper, optional red pepper flakes and noodles (prepared as directed on package) and sour cream. Cook 5 minutes covered over medium heat.

fullsizeoutput_1708

I served it alongside an arugula salad – Bryan wasn’t a fan of the salad (I was though!), but he really liked the Cabbage and Noodles. Hey, 1 out of 2 isn’t bad. 😉

Hope everyone is having a nice weekend!  I had yesterday off so I went with some friends to TurtleFest – a free-admission event which focuses on promoting conservation through up close interactions with threatened and endangered sea turtles. 

IMG_6016fullsizeoutput_170a

We had a great time. 🙂  I love hanging out with people who have similar interests – conservation, nature and animals especially.

Oh, and good news!

IMG_6025

Mr. Buddy would like y’all to know that him and his sister are feeling much better and they thank you for your concern.

Have a great Sunday! 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

