Popular · Things I'm Lovin'

Things I’m Lovin’ Lately- March Edition.

I’ve been up since 5 a.m…

And it’s my day off…

Thanks uhhh-lot Bryan.

Honestly, as much as I hate the thought of crawling out of bed so early, once I’m up and have a cup of coffee in hand, I’m good to go.  Quite frankly, I dig it.  What’s not to love about the early hours of the morning – it’s still dark outside, most (normal) people aren’t awake yet, and it’s quiet, the list goes on…

Another thing I love about the morning?  I feel like I’m at my best.  I’m alert (once that coffee kicks in), productive and well rested.  Toward those late afternoon, early evening hours, this girl starts to fade.  I know not everyone is this way – some of you night owls don’t start perking up until lunchtime – y’all are crazy. 😉

I credit my love of early mornings to my days spent working in coffee shops during college.  I suppose countless mornings waking up at 4:30 a.m. does that to ya.

So where am I going with this?  Well, while we are talking about things I love, I wanted to add a few more things to the love list.

Here are a few things I’m Lovin’ Lately:

fullsizeoutput_1711

  1. Engine 2 Plant-Strong Big Bowl Cereal

I’m sure you’ve heard of Rip’s Engine 2 Diet by now (especially if you’re a vegetarian or vegan). For those of you who haven’t, where on earth have you been?  Don’t worry, I’m here to help – check out this link and then I’ll happily welcome you back to planet earth. 😉

I love most of the E2 foods , unfortunately they are usually a little too expensive for me.  But last weekend I was at Whole Foods Market and one of my favorite E2 cereals was on sale so I snagged a box.  My only regret was not grabbing four!

Rip’s Big Bowl cereal brings together a bountiful blend of four wholesome whole grain cereals – oats, shredded wheat, wheat berries and sprouted grain nuggets – topped off with an earthy, walnut crunch. To make our Banana Walnut Cereal special, we add bananas and dates for a burst of flavor. This cereal provides a filling and satisfying start to the day that is also low in sodium, packed with fiber and delivers 46 grams of whole grains per serving! (source).

fullsizeoutput_1710

      2. The song ‘Let It Be’ by the Beatles. 

Okay, so perhaps this is a silly one, but I can’t seem to get enough of this song lately – I downloaded it onto my iTunes and I’ve been rocking out to it every day on my way to work.

Something y’all should know about me is that I’m an over-thinker. I wouldn’t say I am someone who has to have control of everything, but sometimes, I tend to make some situations in my life more difficult than they have to be, and I don’t always let certain things go because I’m convinced that if I run over details a few more times, I’ll uncover a new understanding of a situation and this will change its outcome.

Do I have anymore over-thinkers out there?

The lyrics to this song remind me that sometimes I don’t have control over what happens in my life and I just have to Let It Be…

Let it Be…

Let it Be…

fullsizeoutput_1713

  3. Natural Body Care Charcoal Facial Detox

I go through phases of clear skin, zits, clear skin, zits… This can be frustrating as a 34 year-old woman. I have tried several face washes and lotions only to realize I have wasted my money again on something I don’t like.

In steps Charcoal Face Wash…

I snatched this face wash up a few weeks ago while I was browsing the aisles at Home Goods (another thing I LOVE).  I had heard about activated charcoal being a good cleanser/detoxifier for skin, but I hadn’t taken the plunge yet.  For $6.99 I decided, why not?

I’m so glad I did!  I love this natural, cruelty-free face wash!

Charcoal facial detox is formulated to clarify the skin with the best that nature has to offer. With activated charcoal, naturally derived gentle and mild cleanser that also offers smoothness and hydration, aloe vera to soothe and nurture, green tea and chamomille extract for anti-oxidant protection, extracts of billberry, sugar, bitter orange and lemon for their cellular refining and toning activity through their natural glycolic, lactic and tannic acid (alpha hydroxy acids), this state-of-the-art facial detox leaves your skin feeling smooth and supple with a healthy and radiant glow (source). 

fullsizeoutput_1712

   4.  Amazing Grass Protein Superfood Protein Powder

I’ve never been a big protein powder fan – I just couldn’t find a good, plant-based powder that didn’t taste like chalk and cost me $30.00 for a small container of it.

Lately, I’ve been so busy at work that I don’t always have time to sit down and have a snack, and sometimes, I don’t get lunch until 3:30 p.m, so I decided to seek out a protein powder that I could combine with almond milk in the morning to have on hand so I could gulp it down in-between breakfast and lunch when I feel famished.

This organic, all-in-one protein nutrition shake combines a superfood blend of plant-based protein with our farm fresh greens and nutrient-dense fruits and veggies. And it really does taste like chocolate peanut butter flavor – unlike the other powders that never seem to taste like their flavor.

fullsizeoutput_1714

  5.  Alba Botanica Hawaiin Facial Mask

As y’all know, I spend a lot of time out in the sun.  It’s my happy place.  Unfortunately, it’s not always good on my skin.  I often come home covered in sand and sweat and feeling dirty.   I don’t know about you, but nothing is more refreshing than cleaning my face.

I’ve always been a big fan of Alba Botanica products – I am just as much a firm believer in using 100% vegetarian products on my skin and hair, as I am about putting them in my body.  I also always look for this logo when buying new products:

Cruelty-Free-Leaping-Bunny

And Alba is dedicated to: making high quality, 100% vegetarian products that overflow with botanical ingredients. They appreciate the importance of being good stewards of natural resources, so we do beautiful by reducing our environmental footprint whenever we can. We believe in keeping our friends close, including the furry kind. That’s why we never test our products, or any of the ingredients used in them, on animals.

This facial mask has become a part of my weekly routine – I use it about 1-2 times along with the Charcoal Facial cleanser (I use daily) and it keeps my skin feeling so fresh and so clean!

There you have it! My current Things I’m Lovin’ Lately. 

Now I’m off to do some much needed paddle boarding. 🙂  My toughest decision today is which pup I’m going to take with me. 🙂

Happy Thursday y’all.

Leave a Reply

