Breakfast Foods · Dairy Free · Quick Meals · Smoothies · Vegetarian

Avocado Smoothie.

fullsizeoutput_172f

I haven’t had my usual ravenous appetite lately – probably because I have had a lot of personal stuff on my mind, and I’ve also been playing outside in the sun a lot. I don’t know about you, but whenever I am out in the heat, I tend to lose my appetite for some reason.

Needless to say, I know I need to eat, so I’ve been trying to make a compromise with my tummy by drinking a lot of smoothies – I feel like this is a fair compromise because it allows me to get some good nutrients, while not making my tummy turn in circles.

You’re welcome tummy, you’re welcome.

Yesterday, Bryan and I took the boys on a paddle boarding/kayaking adventure and when we came home I wasn’t really that hungry, but I knew I needed to eat something after exercising and being outside all day, so I opened the refrigerator to see what ingredients I had to make a healthy smoothie.  I didn’t have any spinach so I knew my Favorite Green Smoothie was out of the question, but I did have some avocados and I know their rich and creamy texture help to make them excellent smoothie additions!  Plus they are high in calories and good (monounsaturated) fats.

Damn I’m smart. 🙂

fullsizeoutput_1730

Avocado Smoothie
Yield: Serves 1

Ingredients:

  • 1 ripe avocado, halved and pitted
  • 1/2 frozen banana, peeled
  • 1 cup almond milk
  • 2T honey or maple syrup
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla
  • 2-3 large ice cubes

Instructions:

Add all ingredients to a high speed blender. Blend until smooth, adding more ice if desired.

fullsizeoutput_1731

Thick, creamy and ohhhh so delicious!  I’m in love with this smoothie! And so is my tummy.

Happy Sunday y’all!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

