Breakfast Foods · Dairy Free · Recipes · Vegetarian

Easy Homemade Granola

I’ve been wanting to make homemade granola for awhile now, and I finally got around to it.

I used to make it about every month, but then I started getting lazy and buying store-bought granola.  This changed last week when I was at the store, strolling down the cereal aisle peering at the several types of granola and thinking to myself “wow, this stuff is so expensive! And I have all the ingredients to make it at home. What the Hell am I thinking?!”  Not to mention, the store-bought stuff is loaded with sugar, unhealthy fats and oils, AND packed with fillers and unhealthy ingredients.

And yes, that is exactly what went through my head – I may have even uttered some of these words out-loud, which is probably why one of the Publix employees asked me if I needed help.

Not the kind that you can provide, buddy…

Unless you’re also a therapist.

“Ummmm…errrr no thanks,” I mumbled, as I placed the $7.99 bag of granola down on the shelf and promised myself I’d make some as soon as I got home.

fullsizeoutput_1732

I had forgotten how much I love the smell of fresh granola cooking in the oven, it’s intoxicating.  I snuck plenty of bites knowing full well that I would burn my tongue, but it’s too damn good to what for it it cool.

fullsizeoutput_1733

Easy Homemade Granola
Yield: Serves 4-6

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups raw old fashioned oats
  • ½ cup raw nuts, chopped (I used cashews & peanuts)
  • ¼ cup raw seeds (sunflower or pumpkin seeds are great)
  • ½ cup unsweetened dried fruit, chopped (I used dried pineapple and cranberries)
  • 2-3T honey
  • 2T coconut oil
  • ½ tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 large pinch fine sea salt
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon

Instructions: Preheat the oven to 300º F. Combine all ingredients in a large mixing bowl and use your clean hands to mix well and toss to coat; it will be sticky and messy but that’s the fun part – just be sure to mix it all through the other ingredients so there aren’t any chunks of oil left. Spread the mixture in a thin layer on a baking sheet and bake for 10 minutes, until very lightly toasted.  Cool before serving (at least try!) or storing.

This granola is crisp, flavourful, and addicting. Have fun mixing up the nuts and seeds. It can be kept in an airtight container in a cool, dry place for up to 2 weeks. I keep mine in a large, glass tupperware container jar in the refrigerator.

fullsizeoutput_1735

My favorite way to eat it is on top of Greek yogurt with sliced bananas.

fullsizeoutput_1737

Hope everyone is having a nice week so far! 

Leave a Reply

