Appetizers · Quick Meals · Recipes · Vegetarian

Basic Grilled Eggplant

Before you tell me how much you hate eggplant and immediately cast off this recipe, hear me out:

I’m not a huge eggplant fan either. I featured it on my blog last summer when I posted 4 Vegetables for People Who Hate Vegetables, but I love vegetables! So honestly, I think eggplant is pretty bland, and don’t get me started on the texture… sometimes I feel like I’m eating my kitchen sponge.  It’s safe to say that I’d put eggplant on my least favorite vegetable list, right next to celery.

Poor eggplant. No love. 😦

I decided to give eggplant another try because sometimes I feel like Bryan and I eat the same things over and over, especially vegetables.  Our usually vegetables of choice are: broccoli, asparagus and some type of salad.

This recipe is light, super simple and won over yours truly…

A.k.a Hater of Eggplant. 

fullsizeoutput_173a

There are a few things I will tweak next time (*see notes below), but overall, it was a very good start to converting me to the Eggplant Lovin’ Side.

fullsizeoutput_1738

Basic Grilled Eggplant
Yield: 3-4 servings
Adapted from Fountain Avenue Kitchen

Ingredients:

  • 1 large eggplant
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1/2 cup grated Parmesan cheese
  • 3/4 cup Italian style bread crumbs (use Rice Chex for a gluten-free option)
  • Salt & Pepper to taste
  • 2-3 T extra virgin olive oil*
  • Marinara sauce, for dipping (optional but highly recommended)

Instructions:

  1. Add olive oil to a large, heated skillet.**
  2. In a shallow bowl, whisk together the eggs.  In another bowl combine the Italian bread crumbs or Rice Chex crumbs, Parmesan cheese, salt and pepper.
  3. Cut the eggplants into thick rounds (cut off skin if desired).  Dip the eggplant slices in the egg mixture, letting the excess drip off. Dredge the dipped slices in the Parmesan mixture, pushing down gently to coat well. Transfer the coated slices to the heated skillet.
  4. Let cook for 4-5 minutes, or until breadcrumbs start turning brown.  Flip the slices and cook on the other side for 4-5 minutes.  Allow to cool for a few minutes, adding more Parmesan cheese if desired.
  5. Remove from the skillet and place on large plate with (optional) marinara sauce. Enjoy!

fullsizeoutput_1739

And yes, I served it alongside pizza… which is what you see in the background. 🙂

*Next time I plan on adding a little more extra virgin olive oil to the skillet.  2-3 T didn’t seem like enough for this recipe.

**I’m going to try baking the eggplant.  I feel like the oven would cook them more thoroughly.  

Hope everyone is having a nice week so far!  I’m off today and have a long list of things to-do. 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

