Comfort Food · Dairy Free · Popular · Quick Meals · Recipes · Vegan · Vegetarian

Slow-Cooker Black Beans & Rice

I always hate waking up on Monday mornings.  And I hate Mondays even more the day after a holiday.  Sure, Easter always falls on a Sunday and you don’t typically get days off leading up to it, or after it (I don’t anyway).  But, for some unknown reason, I find it more difficult to go to work following a holiday.

Who’s with me on this one?

I’m sure the Easter bunny is…

cartoon-tired-easter-bunny-rabbit-by-ron-leishman-55302

This morning I dragged myself out of bed, made some much needed coffee, fed the pups and decided to prepare dinner while I had some energy building up inside me (thank you coffee) – knowing that after work my energy would be depleted.  I posted a picture on my Facebook page and immediately sparked some interest from y’all.  So in order to keep you happy, and to help you muddle your way through the rest of the week, I wanted to share the recipe for this simple Black Beans and Rice.

fullsizeoutput_175f

Slow-Cooker Beans & Rice
Yield: ~6 servings

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1 can seasoned black beans
  • *2 tomatoes, cut into small chunks – I used Roma
  • 1 small white onion, chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 3/4 cup white rice
  • 1.5 cups vegetable broth (or water)
  • 1 teaspoon extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 teaspoon cumin
  • 1 T dried parsley flakes
  • 1/4 teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes
  • salt and pepper to taste

Optional toppings: shredded cheese, sour cream, avocados, tortilla chips.

INSTRUCTIONS: Add above ingredients to a slow-cooker.  **Cook on low heat for 8 hours. Stir well and adjust seasonings to taste.  Top with favorite toppings and enjoy!

*I prefer using fresh tomatoes (cherry or Roma are my favorites), but a can of diced tomatoes would work as well.

**The heat will depend on how long you want it cooking, I left for work (for 8 hours) so I just left it on low.  If you want to eat it sooner, I would turn the heat to high and let it cook an hour or so.

fullsizeoutput_1760

Not going to lie…I gobbled this up right when I walked in the door after work.  So quickly in fact, that I forgot to snap a picture of the bowl I ate (which included cheese and sour cream on top of course!). I did manage to get this shot of Mr. Baxter sneaking a peak as I was putting the leftovers away. Sneaky snake. I may have accidentally dropped a piece for him. 😉

Hope everyone had a nice holiday weekend!

We sure did. I had a little Easter egg hunt for the pups!

IMG_6375

It was too much fun.  They managed to crack their eggs open and gobble up the treats inside. Can we say spoiled rotten?

Then we had brunch with some friends and went on a 3-mile “hike” – I put this is quotes because I don’t really think there’s much hiking in Florida.  My mom likes to joke with me and say, “you mean you went on a walk?”  Sadly, she’s right (just don’t tell her I said that).

ST Kite
adeeperblue.com

We saw several birds during our “hike,” but none (in my opinion) greater than this one.  This is the Swallow-tailed Kite.  One of me and Bryan’s favorite birds.  He’s been trying to capture a photograph of one for awhile now, but they usually are soaring so high above us that it’s been difficult to get a good one.  Until Sunday that is…

ST KITE 2.jpg

He was able to capture several and I love them all.

Have a great week y’all.

 

 

Leave a Reply

